cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dead Pixels or Dirty Sensor?

kaylie_70D
Apprentice

Hi - I am a casual videographer and have had my EOS 70D for 2 years.  I recently noticed 3 spots that are persistent throughout videos, despite changing SD cards, batteries, and wiping the lens. See photo. Does anyone know the cause of these 3 red and blue spots and/or how to fix them?  Thank you!

Canon 70D Screenshot.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

wq9nsc
Authority
Authority

Those appear to be "hot" pixels and typically show up at a higher ISO setting and from the grain and color noise in the example you posted that appears to be shot at high ISO.  Try shooting some photographs in a brighter setting at ISO 400 or below (without a long exposure) and see if they disappear from those images.

They typically aren't a big concern with photography because it is easy to map them out if it is just a few at high ISO but video is a different deal.  The sensor will heat up more using video (or live view) than it will in typical DSLR use so these hot pixels are more likely when shooting video in a darker setting.

Unlike stuck or dead pixels these hot pixels won't show up under all conditions and they are going to appear under the wrong conditions even in very expensive camera bodies.

Rodger

EOS 1DX M3, 1DX M2, 1DX, 5DS R, M6 Mark II, 1D M2, EOS 650 (film), many lenses, XF400 video

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4

wq9nsc
Authority
Authority

Those appear to be "hot" pixels and typically show up at a higher ISO setting and from the grain and color noise in the example you posted that appears to be shot at high ISO.  Try shooting some photographs in a brighter setting at ISO 400 or below (without a long exposure) and see if they disappear from those images.