cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DSLR BUYING GUIDE

fhashby
Contributor

I AM NEW TO THE DSLR WORD BUT AM WANTING TO PURCHASE AN UPPER END MID-RANGE DSLR FIR USE DURING MY HUNTING/FISHING EXCURSIONS WHICH AT TIMES MAY BE FRIGID, COLD, RAINY OR ALL OF THE ABOVE.  CAN ANYONE RECOMMEND A CANON MODEL TO FIT THE BILL?

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

ScottyP
Authority

Yeah, no doubt, based on what you said you need.  7d Mk. 2.

Consider going body-only instead of buying a package deal with a kit lens if you can afford to get a good "L" lens, as most of them are weatherproofed, and It makes sense to keep the whole setup weatherproofed. 

Scott

Canon 5d mk 4, Canon 6D, EF 70-200mm L f/2.8 IS mk2; EF 16-35 f/2.8 L mk. III; Sigma 35mm f/1.4 "Art" EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro; EF 85mm f/1.8; EF 1.4x extender mk. 3; EF 24-105 f/4 L; EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS; 3x Phottix Mitros+ speedlites

Why do so many people say "FER-tographer"? Do they take "fertographs"?

View solution in original post

A nice feature of the 7D Mk II is its ability to use just about any 'alphabet" lens out there.  It will not use one of the few and unlikely yo encounter EF-M lenses.

The letters are usually a naming scheme that the advertising department came up with.  You really need to set a goal or a requirement standard before you go lens shopping.  Other words, what do you want to take pictures of? Under what conditions?

A couple things to keep in mind, one is, weather-proof is a somewhat misleading term.  Neither the 7D2 nor the lens is water-proof !  Splash proof is a better term. Secondly DSLR's like the 7D2, do need some consideration when you are in colder weather.  Maybe 30 degrees and below.  Batteries don't last nearly as long.