Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
Super Contributor
Posts: 487
Registered: ‎03-17-2015

Re: DSLR 101

Nice pano shot, what did you shoot it with and how far away were you???/

Highlighted
Super Contributor
Posts: 487
Registered: ‎03-17-2015

Re: DSLR 101

Bob I understand and agree.  That's why I'm not going to get the monitor for my laptop.  It's a 17", and does have 1080p resolution but my Graphics card is not the best for this.  I rather get a new desktop setup than try to make my laptop work.  When I got my laptop, I did'nt know I'd be getting into serious photography.

Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 13,343
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: DSLR 101

"Nice pano shot, what did you shoot it with and how far away were you???/"

 

It is five sepertate shots merged together in Photoshop.  24mm at f11, 1/500, ISO 400.  I was on the mall of the WWI Memorial looking toward Kansas City.  That is Union Station in the middle.   I don't understand what how far away I was has to do with the shot?

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Highlighted
Super Contributor
Posts: 487
Registered: ‎03-17-2015

Re: DSLR 101

It may not have anything to do with the shot, or may not be revelent at all.  I just asked to know all you did to create your shot.

Highlighted
Super Contributor
Posts: 487
Registered: ‎03-17-2015

Re: DSLR 101

BTW......Is f/4L aperture good enough for buisness purposes, or should I concentrate on f/2.8L  In low light can I compensate with f/4L with external lights????

Highlighted
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,558
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: DSLR 101


@jazzman1 wrote:

BTW......Is f/4L aperture good enough for buisness purposes, or should I concentrate on f/2.8L  In low light can I compensate with f/4L with external lights????


I consider my f/4 lenses (16-35 and 24-105) to be outdoor lenses primarily. But a couple of months ago I did shoot an evening indoor event with my 24-105 and no flash at ISO 2500. The pictures came out fine, but I was using a 5D Mark 3. I don't think I would have attempted it with a lesser camera.

 

All that said, what you can get away with depends critically on what kind of lighting you have and what kind of action you're shooting. For studio work (portraits, product photography, etc.), where your subjects aren't running around and you can control the light, f/4 is plenty fast on any camera.

 

My advice is to start with what you have and gain experience. With enough experience, you'll know when you need to upgrade. If you're not sure, you're probably not there yet.

 

Ernie Biggs may not approve of me telling you this, but I also don't think you should consider either Lightroom or PSE until you've outgrown DPP. DPP is free while the others aren't; so it's easy and cheap to stay up-to-date. And the notion that LR guarantees a faster workflow is largely bogus. Either way, you have to convert your images from RAW to JPEG, and DPP lets you batch that, just as LR does. And you'll know when you've outgrown DPP. If you don't, you haven't.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA
Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 13,343
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: DSLR 101

Acutally f4 is considered the middle.  Anything lower is a fast lens and anything abouve is considered a slower lens.

But we decided you were not going to buy anymore lenses until you got past this stage. Right?  That f2.8 is down the road.

 

I know Bob from Boston likes DPP better than I.  I really don't dislike it.  It just does not have the guts to be a pro level business friendly program.  Free has nothing to do with this.  It is a fact that no one in the business uses DPP in favor of LR and/or PS.  Nobody!  There is a reason.

 

"... the notion that LR guarantees a faster workflow is largely bogus."  No actually it is not bogus.  Just the use of "Presets" alone in LR is going to throughly trash DPP.  Maybe if you were to do 10 or 12 photos every week or so, the difference would not be too great.  Make it 1500-2000 shots per job, per week and LR is vastly faster.

 

When I import images, LR has all the photos in a dated folder.  My basic presets (lens correction and camera settings applied) done.  It has my copyrighted meta data saved and shows the images ready for final edit.  If no further editing is required another click or two saves everything as a jpg.  Just like the screen shot above shows.  To do 1500 photos may take three, maybe four, clicks of the mouse.

 

In reality it is more involved than this because there is the culling and cataloging.  Additional cropping and printing, etc.  DPP is not even in the game.

 

When I am on a shoot LR goes too.  I have a photgraphers cart with my 17" laptop on it.  The camera is tethered to LR with a jerk cord and powered USB cable.  As I shoot all the same presets are applied and it shows the photo full screen for all to see.

 

A little while ago, a few days, one of my backup hard drives told me it was full.  It had a little over 102,000 photos on it.  It is around 5 years old.  Those are just the keepers.  I am retired!

 

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 13,343
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: DSLR 101

"That's why I'm not going to get the monitor for my laptop."

 

Not trying to tell you what to do.  If you are going to buy a new desktop and monitor why don'tyou get the monitor as soon as you can.  Use it on the laptop until you get the new desktop?  You will need it anyway?  Yes, no?

Even if it doesn't work well, you would be out nothing.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Highlighted
Super Contributor
Posts: 487
Registered: ‎03-17-2015

Re: DSLR 101

I understand.  My thinking with it all is that it's not so important, to get much more than I have, at the moment, for now.  I do agree with Biggs that I will need, and should have...everything he's suggested If I'm to go into business.  I do know most times we get what we pay for, and that most free stuff won't usually do for most professional work.  And the few times freeware will work, it's not easy to use, and asks for much more input from the user.  Paid software is usually more user friendly, with better help files and manuals, and many times have features freeware don't have.  Otherwise, why would one spend good money for a product you can get free.  But for now, alot of things I have to pay for, I feel can wait for awhile.   I even have a list, with the order I want to purchase things.  Some things I feel I should buy sooner, some things later.  But I'll get everything on my list over time.  Biggs may chew me out also, but I too think I should use DPP for now cause it's free.  No need at this monent to spend money on a program when I have one free that works for me.  I do agree with Biggs that LR, PSE, and APS is a must as I progress.toward my goal.

 

Thanks for the input on the aperture of lens.  That helps me alot in where I'll go with it all.  I don't have a 5D Mark 3 at the moment, so my f/4L's will do for now.  But on my list in my long range plan is a FF body.   I don't think I should go into business with a crop sensor, other than as a 2nd body, and as a backup.   Not sure witch model I'll get, will decide that when I get ready to get it.  One of the requirements I'll look for is a body good with low light.  My thinking is that I can get f/4L lense in the next two lens I plan to purchase (keep my lens in same quality range), then later get specialty range lens, for special situations in low light, in f/2.8L lens.   Like if I need something for closeups, sports, wildlife, etc...in low light.   Biggs might shoot holes in my thinking though, he would know better than me. 

Highlighted
Super Contributor
Posts: 487
Registered: ‎03-17-2015

Re: DSLR 101

Acutally f4 is considered the middle.  Anything lower is a fast lens and anything abouve is considered a slower lens.

But we decided you were not going to buy anymore lenses until you got past this stage. Right?  That f2.8 is down the road.

 

 Right....

 

"... the notion that LR guarantees a faster workflow is largely bogus."  

 

Fellas I'm gonna stay out of this one and call it a draw LOL

 

I think getting the monitor soon is fine, not a problem.  As you say I can use it later, nothing lost.  But I will hook it to one of my desktops, not the laptop.  That desktop is my workhorse till I upgrade for another one.  It's a intel i3 Proc.  The monitor I have with it now is 20" 1600x900. resolution.  I'll also upgrade the Graphics Card.

 

That is some hookup you have there.  But as I said, you got it like that.  It must be nice my friend...real nice (smile)

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement