Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-08-2019

D6 Mk 2 1st picture issue

I have a new D6 mk2 plus a Canon 70-300 USM and a 24-105 lens - both the cheaper black canon lenses.

At first the 1 st picture was black even though the shutter fired and all metadata was correct - the 2nd picture was perfect - same metadata. Same thing happens with BOTH lenses and a change of SD cards as well.  Has latest firmware installed.

Now the first picture is either black or 1 stop darker.

Does anything has the same issue of is this a problem with the D6 - its under warranty so any help/advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

 

Brian

VIP
Posts: 8,168
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: D6 Mk 2 1st picture issue

You might try resetting the camera back to factory defaults.

That problem sounds very odd. But it sounds like a feature I have never enabled. There is a setting that will retain the same exposure settings when you change lenses. It is useful when shooting video

But I do not see how that feature could cause a totally black exposure. Except, of course, it is your lens cap.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-08-2019

Re: D6 Mk 2 1st picture issue

Many thanks for the quick reply. Tried setting back to defaults - no luck. Lens cap off LOL. Baffled - going on holiday in 7 days and don't want to be without the camera !
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 901
Registered: ‎11-19-2017

Re: D6 Mk 2 1st picture issue

6D2? <<<

 

Full reset

Changed the SD card (formatted in the body, correct)?

lens cap is off

 

What brand are the cards, same?  Full size or adapter?

Are you using any type of lens filters?

 

7 days is not much time.  If you purchased locally, I would take it to the retailer, demonstrate the issue and exchange.  If online, I'd buy a replacement body ASAP and deal with the return when I came home.   

 

Rick
Bay Area - CA
~6D2 (f/w 1.0.4) ~16-35mm f2.8L II, 50 f1.8 STM, 85 prime USM, 70-200 f2.8L IS II ~70-300 USM II ~Sigma 24-70 f2.8 Art (f/w 2.02)
~Sigma 150-600 C + TC1401 1.4x (f/w 2.00) ~Speedlite 430 EX II ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~Windows10 Pro1903 ~EVGA RTX 2080 FTW3 Ultra
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 540
Registered: ‎01-25-2018

Re: D6 Mk 2 1st picture issue

For curiosity, try using the depth of field preview button after it focuses and see if the lens is stepping down further initially than it should based upon what shows up in the EXIF data fromt he shot. 

 

Since it sounds like only your first photo in a sequence is bad, I would lean towards a software glitch.  I am assuming this is a 6D Mark II, correct?  After that first photo in a sequence, are the rest OK?  You may be using the high speed drive option a lot on Holiday if you can't get it fixed first Smiley Happy

 

Rodger

EOS 1DX M2, 1DX, 1D M2, EOS 650 (film), many lenses, XF400 video
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-08-2019

Re: D6 Mk 2 1st picture issue

Many thanks for the reply - before upgrading to F/W 1.0.4 the first picture was black.  Now its hit and miss whether the first is black or dull. Yes lens is stooping down OK - everything works perfectly except no picture.  Think when I come back this will need to go for repair which is annoying as its only a few weeks old ! But definately sounds like a fault ?

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-08-2019

Re: D6 Mk 2 1st picture issue

For sure but the body is expensive and i'm not in a financial position to do that unfortunately !
VIP
Posts: 11,200
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: D6 Mk 2 1st picture issue

"...before upgrading to F/W 1.0.4 the first picture was black."

 

FW will not fix issue this but it could certainly screw it up. Does the photo show on the LCD screen?  If it does I would try another new high quality SD card.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV, even less and less other stuff.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-08-2019

Re: D6 Mk 2 1st picture issue

Tried 3 different kinds of SD cards all well known makes. No luck. On camera the screen is black but also on the card and PC. I’m tearing my hair out. Do you think this is faulty ?
VIP
Posts: 11,200
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: D6 Mk 2 1st picture issue

It doesn't sound like it is taking the picture. At any rate you can not trust it.  Where did you buy it?  A local store should replace it without hesitation.  If an on-line retailer like B&H, Adorama, Roberts, etc. you can have a new one sent over night or 2-day, 3-day shipping.

ANother option you might be able to rent one. They also offer fast shipping. Plenty of time. Sorry but that is where you are at now.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV, even less and less other stuff.
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement