Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-08-2019

Re: D6 Mk 2 1st picture issue

Many thanks for the empathy. You are quite right it looks like I’ll need to return it. That’s life but thanks again for your help. It’s solidified my decision to return it
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 901
Registered: ‎11-19-2017

Re: D6 Mk 2 1st picture issue

[ Edited ]

Good....

I personally would not chance taking something unreliable on a trip, that might leave me without memories.  A "weeks old" camera (if new) should be replaced, not repaired.  Hope you get this resolved quickly.

Rick
Bay Area - CA
~6D2 (f/w 1.0.4) ~16-35mm f2.8L II, 50 f1.8 STM, 85 prime USM, 70-200 f2.8L IS II ~70-300 USM II ~Sigma 24-70 f2.8 Art (f/w 2.02)
~Sigma 150-600 C + TC1401 1.4x (f/w 2.00) ~Speedlite 430 EX II ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~Windows10 Pro1903 ~EVGA RTX 2080 FTW3 Ultra
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-08-2019

Re: D6 Mk 2 1st picture issue

Sorry I said 1 week old it should have been 6 weeks old so no replacement only repair ! but thanks again for the advice
Valued Contributor
Posts: 468
Registered: ‎02-13-2016

Re: D6 Mk 2 1st picture issue

Could something like this happen as a result of having the camera set to record "Dust Delete Data"?

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-08-2019

Re: D6 Mk 2 1st picture issue

Thanks for replying. No dust data has never been set. However sensor clean works on power up and power down so I’ve switched this off and see what happens.
VIP
Posts: 8,168
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: D6 Mk 2 1st picture issue

Did you say this only happens right after you change lenses? Turn off power when you change lenses.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-08-2019

Re: D6 Mk 2 1st picture issue

No it’s happens overnight when the camera has been off for a while. It’s sporadic in nature. Sometimes being a full couple of stops darker and sometimes almost exact with the 2nd picture. It happens no matter what lens is used and even resetting the settings back to factory didn’t help. I’m thinking it’s software related and needs to be returned !
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-08-2019

Re: D6 Mk 2 1st picture issue

OK - UPDATE

Sent Cameraoff to Canon UK repair centre.  Had a chap called Naimesh Patel who could not have been more helpful.  He phoned me on a daily basis with an update on the repair situation.  Majot KUDOS to Mr Patel

The sum and total was a faulty shutter.  Canon repalced it and recalibrated the whole camera.  I now have it back and it is better than brand new.  KUDOS to Canon UK !

Thanks to everyone who took the time to reply with suggestions - I'm a very grateful 70 years old who hopes to take many pictures with this camera !

Highlighted
Valued Contributor
Posts: 468
Registered: ‎02-13-2016

Re: D6 Mk 2 1st picture issue

Thanks for taking the time to post the outcome of your situation. It doesn't get any better than that and too often, I suspect, these things get resolved and we never hear about it.

 

Also, "WOOT-WOOT!" to Mr. Patel, wherever he may be.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement