cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Corrupted Images from Canon 5D Mark iii

RHP16
Apprentice

Hey guys... I'm new to forum with this being my first post. I have been shooting for a few years now and have never encountered this issue. I'm not finding any help either on the web as hot to resolve this issue either.

When my Hoodman Steel 32GB CF card is in the card slot on the camera, the images look fine in preview mode. When I transfer them to my hard drive and look at the thumbnails on my Mac cpu the images look fine. It's when I try and open them with Camera Raw, Photoshop, Lightroom or any other photo editing software do they end up looking corrupted. Here are a couple of screenshots of how they are looking upon importing.

Screenshot 2015-03-23 18.08.38.png

Screenshot 2015-03-23 18.08.38.png

Any help to recover these images would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance and I look forward to sharing photography stories and shots in the future.

Ryan

| Canon 5D Mark iii | Canon 70-200mm L series | Canon 16-35mm L series |

6 REPLIES 6

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

Ryan,

I imagine those are lost.  The CF card looks like it is corrupted.  I never heard of or have used that brand of CF card so I have no idea of its quality.

I suggest you get Sandisk or Lexar.  Also format it before each important shoot each time.  I also prefer 16GB cards.

It is possibile your computer did the damage so you might try a different computer.  Showing a photo on the camera's LCD monitor is no indicatition.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

@ebiggs1 wrote:

Ryan,

I imagine those are lost.  The CF card looks like it is corrupted.  I never heard of or have used that brand of CF card so I have no idea of its quality.

I suggest you get Sandisk or Lexar.  Also format it before each important shoot each time.  I also prefer 16GB cards.