cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Corrupt Files - SanDisk - Lexar

WickedImagery
Apprentice

Ugh - help!  I've been shooting EOS for many years (5d - and then 5d mkII).  I have mostly Delkin memory cards - the last batch I bought were CF500x (a few years ago).  Never had a problem with any of my cards.

We have an event coming up so I wanted to purchase some additional cards.  I bought four SanDisk Extreme 32gig.  I tried them out at a shoot and about 90% of the pictures were corrupt (see attached image).  I worked through some trial and error with all of my lenses, bodies and cards and narrowed it down to those four new cards being the problem.

I was told by a friend to format the cards (I hadn't actually formatted them in a camera before using them).  I tried that - same result.  Because I needed additional cards, I rushed out and ordered four Lexar 1066x 16 gig cards to be sure I'm covered.

I just tested those cards - and got the same result!  What the hell?  I have no problems at all with any of my older Delkin cards (I have probably 20)....but all eight of the new cards from two different manufacturers had the same problem in all of my cameras.

What could be the issue?  Same problem on four cameras (Mk Is and MK IIs).  I'm wondering if it has to do with the speed of the cards (these cards are faster than any of my other cards).  Help!
Corrupt-1.JPG

6 REPLIES 6

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

Perhaps a card reader problem? Can you try direct download from camera?

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

diverhank
Authority