cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Convince me not to switch!

dlmytlephoto
Apprentice

Hey everyone, new to the forum. Im a landscape photographer from NC. Ive been shooting with a 5DMkiV  for quite a while, and the Nikon D850 is keeping me awake at night. I cant stop thinking about the possibility of switching. Has anyone got experience with both cameras, and have some info for me? Money aside.

12 REPLIES 12

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

I totally agree the D850 is a fantastic camera. I shoot both brands, not nearly do I shoot Nikon as much as I do Canon though.  But the D850 is something else. If I were in the market, today, for that type camera it would be a difficult choice to choose between the D850 and the 5D Mk IV.  I don't know.

That is why you must consider other factors that will effect you ultimate goal of great photos.  This come down to several things and the biggest is lenses. I have a fairly large collection of Nikon lenses but not anywhere near the collection of Canon lenses.  So that would push me in favor of the 5D Mk IV. On the topic of lenses, Canon lenses as a general rule are better than Nikon lenses.  Yeah some brand-N's are just as good but Nikon can't seem to match Canon in price.  They do it but at a greater cost, sometime much greater. Like to have some of that money back!

Another consideration is Canon's CS which is a model for all companies.  The best camera in the world isn't worth a dime if you can't get good, fast service.  Important to me because of how much I use my gear.

Lastly for this conversation Canon cameras fit my hand better.  The just feel better. I believe the build is better, too.  Not so much in the higher end cameras and lenses but it's there.