cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Color artifacts on 5d Mark iii

chanellebarona
Contributor

Hello. I recently upgraded to a 5d mark iii from my 70d. I have been shooting on the 70d with no problems the last 4+ years. Since switchikng to the 5d I have been having a lot of issues. I make my living as a photographer (so not an amateur here) and have shot using a 5d mark ii without these problems before. 

But I am getting the most terrible colors with settings exactly the way I would set them on a 70d. Color balance is never right and the back screen does not even remotely accurately match what the images look like on the computer after. I am shooting in locations I have shot in before that I have never had issues with. I am also getting strange green and purple tints inconsistently throughout photos. I am at my wits end trying to figure out what the issue is. I shoot in the highest possible resolution raw and process with camera raw and photoshop. These color issues with green and purple often show up AFTER saving (no settings have changed from my previous camera and editing processed)

I really need this to be solved as my job depends on it.

12 REPLIES 12

chanellebarona
Contributor

Capture.JPG for refference here is the issue in question. Everything abou this looks off to me. the sweater is a pale gold in real life.Capture2.JPGhere is the exact same spot shot with the 70d. Someone please help!

Was this Mk III new or used?  It looks like the AAF might have been tapered with.  What lens?

I think Tim Campbell's idea to only shoot Raw is a wise one.  Do that and watch how the post editor, Photoshop using ACR converts it.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

I clearly stated I am shooting and editing in raw. But I cannot get colors to come out accurately or look good with the settings on the camera.

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

@chanellebarona wrote: