cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon M50 with Magewell USB Capture HDMI?

CanonM50Newbie
Apprentice

Total newbie.  Trying to use Ecamm Live or Wirecast with M50.  Not working at all.  Doing searches, watching videos but still incredibly confused.

Magewell blue light is blinking ("Pulsing Slowly: the indicator light is pulsing slowly when there is no signal, or signals can't be locked or supported.").

Have connected with micro HDMI cable into Magewell, then USB into 2019 iMac.  Ecamm and Wirecast both show "No Signal", with colored lines.  Again, Magewell isn't recognizing it at all.

Have tried camera in manual and video mode.  M50 battery is charged.  Have shut off power saving features.

Just dead in the water.  May return the micro HDMI cable I bought yesterday at Best Buy and try another.  By the way, was the M50 supposed to come with that micro HDMI to HDMI cable included in the box?

If anyone has any tips please let me know.  I'm reading and watching instructional videos but getting nowhere so far.  Magewell is supposedly plug and play, but for me it's not.  Realizing I could be doing something very wrong.

Am a full time musician who is cramming to learn these things for Facebook Live.

Thank you.Screen Shot 2020-05-03 at 3.28.58 PM.png

7 REPLIES 7

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

I have no advice for your Magewell device.  ???

You can test your M50 by connecting it directly to a television or computer monitor.  You should see everything that is normally displayed on the rear screen, including menus and photo/video playback.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

Thank you for the reply.  

I plugged the camera into a Roku TCL television with HDMI (don't think I own a computer monitor with HDMI input), got no picture, unfortunately.

FIguring, bad cable, bad M50, or me still screwing something up.