cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon EOS to old Minolta adapter?

nizzlefish98
Apprentice

Recently bought a Canon 700D (T5i) along with its kit lens.  But I also have a few lenses lying around from an old Minolta Maxxum 7000.  I have little 50mm f1.7 AF lens and was wondering if it is possible to mount it onto an EOS mount.  Apologies for any mistakes, noob here

.20151203_183410.jpg

8 REPLIES 8

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

Google Minolta EOS lens adapter

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

Would this work? As from what I read, the Maxxum 7000 shares the same A mount as Sony.

Sony A Lens to Canon EF-S

Looks like it will, but I would call and talk to someone before purchasing. 

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

@nizzlefish98 wrote:

Would this work? As from what I read, the Maxxum 7000 shares the same A mount as Sony.

Sony A Lens to Canon EF-S

Yes that will adapt the lens to your EOS camera. However, note that that adapter has a lens element in it. This means you are putting a piece of optics of unknown quality in the mix. Additionally you will have to manually focus the lens, and THEN manually stop down the aperture.

With the EF 50mm f/1.8 STM lens, you can choose to use it either in auto-focus mode, or manual focus. The aperture will stay fully open until you are ready to take the photo (ensuring a bright viewfinder image) and then automatically stop down and reopen when you take the photo.

While you can manually focus a lens on your dSLR and I often do with when shooting birds through branches, keep in mind you won't have a split prism focus aid. 

As you noted your old Minolta lens can be used on Sony A mount cameras so it still has value (~$25) on the used market if you choose to sell it.

TTMartin
Authority
Authority

@nizzlefish98 wrote: