Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-29-2016
Accepted Solution

Canon EOS 70D RAW images only "1920 x 1280"?

why are my Canon EOS 70D RAW images only "1920 x 1280"?

Was getting full size images couple of days ago & no idea what has changes

cannot get back to full size despite many experiments to fix it.

No luck finding info online anywhere either.

 

Please help or direct me to guidance.

 

thanks in advance

Mike

Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,967
Registered: ‎02-26-2015

Re: Canon EOS 70D RAW images only "1920 x 1280"?


@MikeNZ wrote:

why are my Canon EOS 70D RAW images only "1920 x 1280"?

Was getting full size images couple of days ago & no idea what has changes

cannot get back to full size despite many experiments to fix it.

No luck finding info online anywhere either.

 

Please help or direct me to guidance.

 

thanks in advance

Mike


If it 1920X1280 one of two things, either you changed the camera to a S2 JPG, or the software you are using to process the RAW files is set to export at 1920X1280. Your camera does have a m-RAW (4104X2736) and an s-RAW (2736X1824) setting, but, as you can see neither of those smaller RAW files would be 1920X1280
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-29-2016

Re: Canon EOS 70D RAW images only "1920 x 1280"?

Thanks Martin, appreciate your help.
I am sure the setting is full size "RAW" not the smaller M or S ones. Using Canon's Camera Connect software on iPad. Was working fine with wireless transfer of large images 5 days ago then 3 days ago something changed Smiley Sad now get the smaller version. I use Lightroom to check image size too.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-29-2016

Re: Canon EOS 70D RAW images only "1920 x 1280"?

I'm absolutely flummoxed at this one Martin.

no idea what has gone wrong or settings I've changed.

Perhaps attached images may help show my setup & images I'm having issues with.

forgive quality, just quick snaps to provide for troubleshooting here

 

I'm working on an a magazine article & publisher spotted issue immediately 

Really appreciate any advice you or others can offer please

image.jpeg

"Small RAW image 

image.jpeg

Full Size RAW image from couple of days ago

image.jpeg

Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,939
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: Canon EOS 70D RAW images only "1920 x 1280"?

When in doubt about what is going on two things that frequently help are 1. use the clear all camera settings in the menu to restore to factory settin gs and 2. remove battery, power on and reinstall battery.

 

You said you are shooting RAW. In order to see the image it needs to be processed in a software product, and to get a JPEG to post it needs to be eported. Could you have possibly changed a setting in your software?

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LRCC Classic
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-29-2016

Re: Canon EOS 70D RAW images only "1920 x 1280"?

Hi John,

No software changes but I did recharge battery!
Will reset as you advise & see if that helps Smiley Happy
Thanks for help.
Mike
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-29-2016

Re: Canon EOS 70D RAW images only "1920 x 1280"?

[ Edited ]

Truely bizarre
Tried both John & sadly neither made a difference.
Reset to RAW after camera reset still get small images of size consistent with S.RAW size Smiley Sad

 

please come back 20M 5472x3648 😳

Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,939
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: Canon EOS 70D RAW images only "1920 x 1280"?

[ Edited ]

2.jpg

 

1.jpg

 

 

 

So if I understand what you are saying you have the record set to RAW, but when you press the blue playback arrow and cycle through INFO. button you don't get a 20MB image image size?

 

I am working with a 1D Mark IV, so size is a little different.

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LRCC Classic
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,967
Registered: ‎02-26-2015

Re: Canon EOS 70D RAW images only "1920 x 1280"?

[ Edited ]

@MikeNZ wrote:

I'm absolutely flummoxed at this one Martin.

no idea what has gone wrong or settings I've changed.

Perhaps attached images may help show my setup & images I'm having issues with.

forgive quality, just quick snaps to provide for troubleshooting here

 

I'm working on an a magazine article & publisher spotted issue immediately 

Really appreciate any advice you or others can offer please

 


Since you are shooting in LiveView, I think you might have switched the camera from LiveView to Movie Mode.

 

You aren't actually recording movies since you don't push the Record button.

 

But, when you press the shutter button you are taking a still frame from the lower resolution movie mode instead of a LiveView shot.

 

Make sure the LiveView (white camera) / Movie (red camera) switch is set to LiveView (white camera).

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-29-2016

Re: Canon EOS 70D RAW images only "1920 x 1280"?

I think you maybe on to something here John.

when I check playback image size is as expected for full RAW.

Thererfore smaller resolution could be an issue of transfer via Canon Camera Connect software to iPad

Still thinking about what could have changed.

 

Grateful patience of both TTMartin & yourself to my learning.

 

good logical problem solving, checked Liveview too, definitely set in Camera mode.

 

Below setting of two photos, therefore expect same resolution for each of these would appear in Lightroom.

unfortunately. Any more thoughts?

 

Thanks in advance

Mike

 

image.jpeg

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement