Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,433
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Canon 80d


@Waddizzle wrote:

@nav16 wrote:
I tried also in one shot mode and still couldn't get focus to work. I'll try to do the factory reset

Why don’t you take the camera to well lit location?  While you are it, remove that thing from the flash shoe.  Something is definitely wrong becase both shutter speed and aperture seem to be highlighted at the same time.


They're highlighted at the same time because the camera is in manual mode. Isn.t that what the "M" means?

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA
Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 9,650
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Canon 80d


@RobertTheFat wrote:

@Waddizzle wrote:

@nav16 wrote:
I tried also in one shot mode and still couldn't get focus to work. I'll try to do the factory reset

Why don’t you take the camera to well lit location?  While you are it, remove that thing from the flash shoe.  Something is definitely wrong becase both shutter speed and aperture seem to be highlighted at the same time.


They're highlighted at the same time because the camera is in manual mode. Isn.t that what the "M" means?


Yes, the “M” means the camera is in Manual shooting mode.  But, you cannot adjust two settings at once on the Quick Menu, which is what the display seems to be indicating.  Besides, what is that thing on top of the camera?

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
Highlighted
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,433
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Canon 80d


@Waddizzle wrote:

@RobertTheFat wrote:

@Waddizzle wrote:

@nav16 wrote:
I tried also in one shot mode and still couldn't get focus to work. I'll try to do the factory reset

Why don’t you take the camera to well lit location?  While you are it, remove that thing from the flash shoe.  Something is definitely wrong becase both shutter speed and aperture seem to be highlighted at the same time.


They're highlighted at the same time because the camera is in manual mode. Isn.t that what the "M" means?


Yes, the “M” means the camera is in Manual shooting mode.  But, you cannot adjust two settings at once on the Quick Menu, which is what the display seems to be indicating.  Besides, what is that thing on top of the camera?


I don't have an 80D. But if my 5D4 is any guide, he's looking at the display via the "Info" button (where you can adjust both settings at once), not the "Q" button. But yeah, the actual form of the highlighting does look strange.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎09-20-2017

Re: Canon 80d

So I tried to take pictures outside where there is alot of light and even tried inside and turned on my lights. Took off the thing that was on the light shoe. I changed the setting to enable in the auto focus setting and still no luck. I even cleared all the settings and still couldn't get the red lights to come on when the lense is focusing. And the lense is set to auto and not manual.

Any other suggestions?
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎09-20-2017

Re: Canon 80d

Just to be clear. When I hold the af-on button then the squares will light up. But before when I hold the shutter button half way then it would light up and now they don't. I want the focus to happen when I hold the shutter button half way.. I can get the squares to go red and focus when I click the af-on but I want them to come on when I click the shutter button half way 

Highlighted
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎04-01-2019

Re: Canon 80d


They're highlighted at the same time because the camera is in manual mode. Isn.t that what the "M" means?


Yes, the “M” means the camera is in Manual shooting mode.  But, you cannot adjust two settings at once on the Quick Menu, which is what the display seems to be indicating.  Besides, what is that thing on top of the camera?

 


On the 80D, when manual mode is selected, and you are using the info screen (in the shooting functions settings) as is the OP, both the shutter and F-stop are highlighted and the top dial adjusts the one, while the back dial adjusts the other. Both are highlighted as in the OP's picture.

 

 

Highlighted
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,433
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Canon 80d


@nav16 wrote:
So I tried to take pictures outside where there is alot of light and even tried inside and turned on my lights. Took off the thing that was on the light shoe. I changed the setting to enable in the auto focus setting and still no luck. I even cleared all the settings and still couldn't get the red lights to come on when the lense is focusing. And the lense is set to auto and not manual.

Any other suggestions?

I don't mean to be argumentative, because I don't have a dog in this hunt. But I wonder if you aren't, at least partially, missing the point. In the previous commentary, we've been referring to the camera being set to Manual, not the lens.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA
Highlighted
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,119
Registered: ‎02-06-2013

Re: Canon 80d


@nav16 wrote:

Just to be clear. When I hold the af-on button then the squares will light up. But before when I hold the shutter button half way then it would light up and now they don't. I want the focus to happen when I hold the shutter button half way.. I can get the squares to go red and focus when I click the af-on but I want them to come on when I click the shutter button half way 


First, check these two options to make sure you didn't inadvertently disable the red dot display:

Capture.JPG

If you have correctly set the above options and still have the problem -- If you can light up using the AF-On button and not the shutter button then there's a chance that you have inadvertently turn off the AF for the shutter button.  Is the camera focusing when you press the shutter button half-way?

 

Check this option:  Make sure the Shutter Button (first one) is set to AF

Capture.JPG

 

 

================================================
Diverhank's photos on Flickr
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎09-20-2017

Re: Canon 80d

So when I went into the custom control setting. I changed the shutter button to metering and af start and that fixed it
Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 9,650
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Canon 80d


@5DIV wrote:

On the 80D, when manual mode is selected, and you are using the info screen (in the shooting functions settings) as is the OP, both the shutter and F-stop are highlighted and the top dial adjusts the one, while the back dial adjusts the other. Both are highlighted as in the OP's picture.

 

 


That is different from how every other type of Canon DSLR body that I have used.  I have used a Rebel, M-Series, every fulll frame series.  I have used 80D bodies but only briefly, and never noticed that difference.  The real time exposure display on the rear LCD is very useful.  It is far more convenient than the top LCD when using a tripod.  

 

Nikon bodies seem unable to allow you to do this.  Anytime you press the shutter, it blanks the display, and there is never an option to turn that off.  I have one Nikon body, a D3, and it is not able to do it.

 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement