cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon 80D and problem in jpg images when using AEB 5 brackets

ktizo
Apprentice

I'm a real estate photographer using the 80D with newest model of Tokina 11-16. I shoot AEB 5 brackets, no flash. Aperture priority with ISO 400. Shoot from a tripod and 2 second timer in JPG.
Recently, when shooting outdoor with blue sky, the two underexposed jpgs show a "block" pattern in top right of photos. It's hard to describe without showing photo. It's as if someone put a semi transparent block of paper over the image and it changes the brightness of the blue sky under that block of paper. So, as your eye sweeps across the image, you will hit a definite vertical line where the blue changes shade until the end of the block. Considering, it's a glitch writing to the memory card, i have reformatted it, and even changed it out for another, but problem persists. When I shoot 3 bracketed frames in RAW, I do not see a problem.
Thank you for any insight you can offer.

The photo attached is one of 5 and most underexposed. Underexposed is where it seems to be most noticable. The photo bracketed next to this one also subtly shows the pattern. Look top right.

AEB issues-2.jpg

8 REPLIES 8

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

You can attach a JPEG here.

What are your JPEG settings? Are they the highest quality?

Thanks for your assistance. I just posted an example photo. My jpg settings are on highest quality.

My first question why are you not just using P mode and a single shot?  That photo has no real HD requirements. Some times it is best to just keep it simple. For a snap shot type photo like your example, the 80D is pretty smart. Smiley Happy

However, that said, you are probably seeing jpg artifacts from varying reasons and why you should never shoot jpg any longer. It is so simple and effortless to use Raw all the time and let your post editor do the conversion automatically as you u/l to your computer.