cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon 80D + 70-200mm f/4 IS USM. Did I make a mistake?

Eusadnama
Apprentice

Getting back into photography. Upgraded from a Nikon D40 to Canon 80D. Didn’t yet know about crop sensors. Going to Iceland and knew the kit lens (18-55mm) was subpar (right? Or no?) and wanted something phenomenal. Then found the 70-200mm f/4 L IS USM. Did research on it and saw how amazing it was. The f/2.8 was too expensive for me, not to mention I’m not a pro, but wanted a good zoom lens that will last and hold up to years of abuse. 

Fast forward 2 days and hours of YouTube videos later, and am wondering if what I’ve done is a complete waste of money, seeming as though this f/4 will never be an f/4 if I have to multiple focal length AND aperture by 1.6, which gives me f/6.4. Low light photographs will be impossible or what? And 112-320mm zoom sounds like super zoom now. Doesn’t that really limit the type of photos you can take? The camera is super nice, but was this like buying a mI’d range car and putting super expensive hubcaps and speakers, etc on it? I was under the impression that a camera is only as good as the lens you’re shooting through because the camera doesn’t matter, the lens matters. But I don’t understand what lenses to buy with crop sensors.  

Lens arrives tomorrow. Taking it to the zoo for testing. Any thoughts I’d appreciate. I’m really interested in learning more. 

7 REPLIES 7

The 1.6 "crop factor" has nothing to do with aperture; your lens is still an f/4.

At any zoom setting, your lens, used on your 80D, will give you a certain "angle of view". All the 1.6 factor tells you is that to  get the same angle of view on a full-frame camera, you'd need a lens 1.6 times as long. To put it in simplest terms, it says that your lens is more of a telephoto on your 80D than it is on a FF camera. If you don't own a FF camera, that information is probably of no interest to you.