cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon 7d mark ii

gizzy
Apprentice

I recently bought a 7d mark ii camera. The firmware was factory set at 1.0.4. The most recent update for this camera is 1.1.3 dated from 11/21/20. I am not experienced at updating firmware on cameras so l would like to know if these updates are important on this particular camera . If not l would prefer not to do it . I am nervous that something will go wrong in the update and screw my camera up. Also, l would presume that only the 1.1.3 update would be used and l would not have to  install all updates going back to 1.0.4.  ?? Also, if the update is necessary is it safer to do it on a sd card or use the canon utility tool on my computer ?  Thank you for your help.

11 REPLIES 11

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

If you go to the Canon Support site, it will tell you what all the updates do, if they are not issues that affect you, there is no need to do the update.

MikeSowsun
Authority
Authority

There is no need to upgrade the firmware unless you want to take advantage of the "fixes" or "improvements" added by the firmware. If you do want to update, just go to the newest 1.1.3 version as it will include all previous versions. 

I like the simplicity of downloading the file directly to the root of the SD card. First you must download the zipped folder to your computer and then extract the actual firmware file. You then copy the firmware file to the root of your SD card.  Then run the update on your camera using a full battery. 

If this sounds intimidating, have someone else do the firmware upgrade for you, or just use your camera as is. 

You can download the firmware here:  https://www.usa.canon.com/internet/portal/us/home/support/details/cameras/eos-dslr-and-mirrorless-ca...

Firmware Version 1.1.3 incorporates the following fix:

1. Corrects a PTP communications vulnerability.
2. Corrects a vulnerability related to firmware update.