cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon 70d - Delay in taking pictures

marinokl
Apprentice
Hi, everyone:

I just purchased my first dslr - a Canon 70d with the 18-135mm kit lens. I'm still very new to this, but am eager to learn so I've been starting to use the camera casually to get a feel for it and have been reading the manual before I take my first class in a few weeks. I'm having a little trouble capturing some shots, though, because I'm getting a good few seconds delay after pressing the shutter button. I'm pretty sure I'm pressing halfway then the rest of the way as the manual said, but I must be doing something wrong or have a certain setting on, right? I can't seem to figure it out, so thought you all might be able to help me here.

Thank you!
Kristen
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

pjmacd
Enthusiast
Kristen, welcome to Canon DSLR photography. Here's a quick thought - are you sure you don't have the self-timer turned on? To check this, turn your camera on and press the DRIVE button (second from the left on the top right side of your camera). In the LCD window, look at which symbol is in the box on the top row, second from the left. If there is a symbol that looks like a stopwatch (it may have a 2 under it), you're in self-timer mode. Move the knurled wheel behind the shutter button to change to a different drive mode - you probably want the single rectangle if you're just starting out. Let us know if this doesn't solve the problem.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4

pjmacd
Enthusiast