Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-25-2018
Accepted Solution

Canon 6d cannot playback when remote is plugged in

Hi,

I'm using Canon 6D with Pocket Wizard as a remote trigger plugged in to the RF603/C3 port.  I was able to preview the pictures I took using the playback button, but now for some reason the playback and display won't turn on until I unplugged the remote cable.  I don't think I messed with any of the settings or perhaps I accidently set it the wrong way.    Anyone know what's the correct setting to be able to view/playback the picture without unplugging the remote cable.  I don't use live view when using the remote trigger.

 

Thanks.

Emil.

VIP
Posts: 8,168
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Canon 6d cannot playback when remote is plugged in


@eharsa wrote:

Hi,

I'm using Canon 6D with Pocket Wizard as a remote trigger plugged in to the RF603/C3 port.  I was able to preview the pictures I took using the playback button, but now for some reason the playback and display won't turn on until I unplugged the remote cable.  I don't think I messed with any of the settings or perhaps I accidently set it the wrong way.    Anyone know what's the correct setting to be able to view/playback the picture without unplugging the remote cable.  I don't use live view when using the remote trigger.

 

Thanks.

Emil.


Check that your remote trigger is not holding the shutter half pressed.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-25-2018

Re: Canon 6d cannot playback when remote is plugged in

Waddizzle, genius my man.  There is a switch at the trigger cable to make it autofocus or manual focus, it was set to manual so it was preventing it to check the playback.  Thanks for the solution, I was browsing around the menu and couldn't find anything. 

 

Regards,

Emil 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎05-30-2017

Re: Canon 6d cannot playback when remote is plugged in

Hey @Waddizzle, how would I check this? I have the same issue, but am using a Vello ShutterBoss II. I can't get any camera functions to work once I connect the unit. Even if it is not powered on. I suspect I have a short somewhere.

VIP
Posts: 8,168
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Canon 6d cannot playback when remote is plugged in


@DaBrownCO wrote:

Hey @Waddizzle, how would I check this? I have the same issue, but am using a Vello ShutterBoss II. I can't get any camera functions to work once I connect the unit. Even if it is not powered on. I suspect I have a short somewhere.


Contact Vello or the vendor who sold it to you.  You may have a bad unit.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎05-30-2017

Re: Canon 6d cannot playback when remote is plugged in

Thanks Waddizzle. That's what I thought. It's a few years old so I guess it's surpassed its lifetime.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement