cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon 6D vs Canon 70D vs Canon 7D

lalaknight
Apprentice
Hi,
I'm new to photography and I love it. I'm having a hard time choosing between the 6D, 7D, and 70D. What's the significant differences between these 3? I want to start doing family portraits in natural light, mostly outside in natural surroundings. I also have a 8 month old who's moving all over the place and I want to get LOTS of photo's of her. I'm interested in photo's that have a high depth of field. I work at alot of music festival's (day and night, indoor and outdoor) and I really want to shoot at those. So basically I need a camera for
Natural light
Family Portraits
Baby/Infant
Concerts
Festivals
Action
Outdoor
Headshots

I'm just so confuse as to what to pick. I can't afford a Mark III. These are the only ones in my budget. Thanks so much for all the help and advice in advance.
30 REPLIES 30

If you're really serious about photography and are willing to invest significant effort in learning to do it well, buy the 6D. (We'll leave the lens recommendation until later, after you've gone into a bit more detail about your priorities.) The 6D is the most expensive and requires more expensive lenses, but it has the most growth potential. And if you're eventually in a position where you need and can afford a 5D3, you'll want to be able to use all your lenses.

Otherwise, buy the 7D (and the 17-55mm f/2.8 lens). It lacks some gaudy modern features of the 70D, but it's a better camera overall. You won't outgrow it anytime soon.

All this assumes that you've done your homework and ruled out lesser cameras, of which there are many good ones, because your interest in photography is keen enough to require a serious camera.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

@RobertTheFat wrote: