cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon 6D breaking compatibility with third party flashes

mvadu
Contributor

I am new to full frame camera, and a new proud owner of Canon 6D. I used to shoot with a T1i before. I also have a YN-468 flash. Since 6D does not have an on-board flash, I want to start use the external flash more often.

As per many online guides, (e.g. photonotes.org/articles/eos-flash/index2.html) in Manual (M) exposure mode flash power is varied to expose the subject, while the shutter and aperture determine the ambient light.

I followed this approach, and on T1i it works as expected.

T1i Image

On 6D however it does not seem to work that way. The flash is firing, but the photos are tuned out black! (or extremely under exposed)

6D Image

Both are shot in Manual Exposure mode, with same lens (24-105 L) @ 1/50, f/4, ISO-400. Since this setting was giving little over exposed in T1i, I put -2 FEC on both. I asked this question on Flickr forum and general conscious was that 6D is implementing some new algorithm for eTTL and hence previously working third party accessories may not work any more. Is it true?

I am borrowing one my friends 430Ex tonight to try if a Canon flash would work as expected to make sure my copy 6D is not defective.

9 REPLIES 9

RexGig
Enthusiast

This can happen with flashes, and with lenses, too. Third parties have to arrive at compatibility by reverse-engineering a product. A future camera released by the manufacturer may well simply be incompatible. Companies who are competitors cannot be expected to share data with each other. (Some manufacturers have apparently provided data to Zeiss, according to some sources.)