Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-28-2017
Accepted Solution

Canon 6D Mk II Raw Files Come Out Magenta in HDR Software

When I load a single CR2 file from my 6D Mk II into HDR software (have tried several), the image comes out VERY magenta.  Why is that? It's fine in Digital Photo Professional.

IMG_2260-HDR-500.jpg

VIP
Posts: 8,031
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Canon 6D Mk II Raw Files Come Out Magenta in HDR Software

You’re only loading a single file into your HDR software?

Your image either has the White Balance completely set wrong, or the image sensor is failing.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-28-2017

Re: Canon 6D Mk II Raw Files Come Out Magenta in HDR Software

Thanks for the reply, Waddizzle. It's very common to load a single raw file into HDR software, because they have such a large dynamic range.

 

I don't think there is anything wrong with the white balance or the sensor because the images are fine when loaded into DPP and the JPEGs coming out of the camera are also fine. There must be something different about the format of CR2 files from the 6D Mk II that the HDR software can't yet handle; I don't get this problem with raw files from my 50D.

VIP
Posts: 8,031
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Canon 6D Mk II Raw Files Come Out Magenta in HDR Software

Your HDR software needs an update. That is not Canon’s responsibility.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,947
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Canon 6D Mk II Raw Files Come Out Magenta in HDR Software


@JuanNOnly wrote:

Thanks for the reply, Waddizzle. It's very common to load a single raw file into HDR software, because they have such a large dynamic range.

 

I don't think there is anything wrong with the white balance or the sensor because the images are fine when loaded into DPP and the JPEGs coming out of the camera are also fine. There must be something different about the format of CR2 files from the 6D Mk II that the HDR software can't yet handle; I don't get this problem with raw files from my 50D.


Yeah, OK, that additional information does suggest that there's probably nothing wrong with the sensor.

 

But what "HDR software" are you using, and what can it usefully do with only one RAW file? The whole idea of HDR processing is to build a picture out of more than one (usually at least three) separate images, to compensate for the fact that the dynamic range of the camera is less than that of the scene. To me (no HDR expert), your observation that "It's very common to load a single raw file into HDR software, because they have such a large dynamic range" sounds nonsensical. Please elaborate, so that I can learn something new.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA
Valued Contributor
Posts: 448
Registered: ‎02-13-2016

Re: Canon 6D Mk II Raw Files Come Out Magenta in HDR Software

How does the HDR software react if you load up a single JPG or TIFF image? How about if you load up multiple RAW files?

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-30-2017

Re: Canon 6D Mk II Raw Files Come Out Magenta in HDR Software

Hello there ! 

I got the exact same problem when trying to open my Raw files into "Affinity Photo" with my 6D MkII

I belive it's only due to the fact the camera is brand new and that not is set in the different programs to open the raw files yet 

I will stay focus if any suggestions pop-up in the forum for any "plug-in" or "update" would fix this once it for all .

(sorry for my poor english)


Reputable Contributor
Posts: 744
Registered: ‎11-14-2012

Re: Canon 6D Mk II Raw Files Come Out Magenta in HDR Software

This is how the pictures look like before the software support them. Same for me with my M5, but I sent a couple of raw files to the developers. One day later Darktable supported M5.

---------------------------------------------------------
My Swedish blog

M5, 7D, 6D, D30, 300D, 30D, 1000D IR, EOS DCS 3c, EOS D2000, 16-35/4L IS, 100/2,8 Macro, 70-200/2,8L IS II, 24-105/4L, 85/1,8, 50/1,4, 24/1,4L II, 300/2,8L IS, Helios 58/2

Darktable, RawTherapee, Photomatix, Luminance HDR, GIMP 2.10.6.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-28-2017

Re: Canon 6D Mk II Raw Files Come Out Magenta in HDR Software


@RobertTheFat wrote:


Yeah, OK, that additional information does suggest that there's probably nothing wrong with the sensor.

 

But what "HDR software" are you using, and what can it usefully do with only one RAW file? The whole idea of HDR processing is to build a picture out of more than one (usually at least three) separate images, to compensate for the fact that the dynamic range of the camera is less than that of the scene. To me (no HDR expert), your observation that "It's very common to load a single raw file into HDR software, because they have such a large dynamic range" sounds nonsensical. Please elaborate, so that I can learn something new.


Hi, Robert:

So if you want to capture the full dynamic range of a scene you might, for example, take a shot at what your meter recommends, another 2 EV below that and another 2 EV above. You could then take the three jpeg files and load them into HDR software. However, a single raw file can cover this whole range, so you can just load that and the software will figure it out. There are two major advantages to this: 1) You don't need a tripod; 2) You don't have to worry about ghosting. Sure, there will be scenes that have a range that exceeds what a single raw file can handle, and bracketed shots would be appropriate for those cases. Hope that helps explain it.

Juan

VIP
Posts: 8,031
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Canon 6D Mk II Raw Files Come Out Magenta in HDR Software


@JuanNOnly wrote:

@RobertTheFat wrote:

Hi, Robert:

So if you want to capture the full dynamic range of a scene you might, for example, take a shot at what your meter recommends, another 2 EV below that and another 2 EV above. You could then take the three jpeg files and load them into HDR software. However, a single raw file can cover this whole range, so you can just load that and the software will figure it out. There are two major advantages to this: 1) You don't need a tripod; 2) You don't have to worry about ghosting. Sure, there will be scenes that have a range that exceeds what a single raw file can handle, and bracketed shots would be appropriate for those cases. Hope that helps explain it.

Juan


What software are you using?  Supplying only one image is not gaining you anything. 

Many of my HDR shot sequences are not always centered around 0 Ev.  I put less trust in the camera metering, and more trust in a test exposure and the in-camera histogram.  

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement