cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon 5d or 6d?

barrisster
Contributor

I presently have a 40d and am considering upgrading.  I think I would be better served with a full frame camera.  However, I can't decide whether to purchase a 6d or 5d.  I think the 6d would meet my needs but, don't want to limit myself and thus am considering the 5d.  If they were closer in price, there would be no question   I like the ability to increase the ISO to such a large number..

I am a amateur, so my concern is that the 5d would be like owning a Ferrari in Los Angeles traffic.  I would look good, but I could never use its full capabilities. 

My photographic interests range from landscapes to macros to travel.  Anyone have any suggestions?  Thanks

11 REPLIES 11

Sebring5
Contributor
5d

hsbn
Whiz
5DMIII is like a Ferrari FF and the 6D is like Ferrari California. So to most people they are still expensive piece of equipment. Heck, I have taken countless number of wedding and events with my trusted 30D for years. And most people said to me "that is one expensive camera" ha!. Get a 5DMIII and you won't regret. You can learn to use it to its full potential so don't worry, get the best that you can.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Weekend Travelers Blog | Eastern Sierra Fall Color Guide

Conversly, you could also learn how to use the "advanced features" of the 5d3 yet still not use them much in the field.  Did it hurt to have the 5d3?  No, but was it worth and extra $1000+ for features you don't use?

Unless you're shooting a lot of fast moving subjects the differences between the two cameras are minimal.  Both are very capable cameras.  Me personally, I didn't think the cost difference was worth it, but I'm very much in the minority on the internet. 

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend