cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon 5d mark ii

gomess101
Apprentice

I've been doing photography for around 4 years now shooting wildlife and landscapes and I am currently selling my canon 7d in order to finally go full frame. With the money I currently have and my expected selling price for the 7d I can afford a 5d mark ii, are there any other suggestions for a used full frame DSLR at this price point? (E.g. $500-700)

6 REPLIES 6

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

If you shop around, not eBay, you may find a used 1D Mark IV around $800 - $1000.  

Why not upgrade to a used 7D Mark II?  Is there some compelling reason to go full frame?  If you're shooting wildlife, then I assume that you are using full frame lenses, not EF-S mount lenses.  

You can shoot landscapes just as well with an APS-C body as you can with a full frame.  Either can do very well at ISO 100 on a tripod.  You would be pressed to tell the difference.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

@Waddizzle wrote:

If you shop around, not eBay, you may find a used 1D Mark IV around $800 - $1000.  

Why not upgrade to a used 7D Mark II?  Is there some compelling reason to go full frame?  If you're shooting wildlife, then I assume that you are using full frame lenses, not EF-S mount lenses.  

You can shoot landscapes just as well with an APS-C body as you can with a full frame.  Either can do very well at ISO 100 on a tripod.  You would be pressed to tell the difference.

I think I concur with Waddizzle. The 7D2 is nearly identical to the 5D Mk III, except for its lighter weight and smaller sensor size. I've never used a 5D2; but when the 5D3 came out, the general consensus was that it was a significant improvement over the 5D2. So I think I might prefer the 7D2 over the 5D2. (Full disclosure: I have a 5D3, and my wife has a 7D2.)

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

@RobertTheFat wrote: