cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon 5D markii Autofocus not working

LaurieSE
Apprentice

I have been using a 5D2 that belongs to my dad for several years. I have tried not to be too invested in it because I didn't want to be too disappointed when he took it back, although now I just want to improve my camera skills. I was talking to a friend who also uses a 5D2 and asking how she focuses so quickly for shoots with small children and she introduced me to BBF...Which would be amazing if I had ANY autofocus on the camera at all!! (I have been manually focusing (NO AUTOFOCUS EVER) for the last 3-4 years!!! and just assumed the camera didn't have an autofocus option. I know...feeling pretty silly about that about now!)

Anyway, I have gone through every available video and forum regarding autofocus problems and none seem to address the issue I am having which is that although the gray autofocus box comes up on my live view screen, I can't get the autofocus bracket to ever go red or green, let alone try to see if it will focus correctly.

Please help!

Thankyou!!!

9 REPLIES 9

Are you sure you're using an autofocus lens and that it's set to AF rather than MF?

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

How can I tell if it is an autofocus lens?

Hmm. just googled my ? and saw something that asked why zeiss doesn't make autofocus lenses...It is a zeiss lens and I think you are right that it is not an autofocus lens. It is good to know my camera isn't broken, and that I'm not totally crazy (though wish I would have just asked here in the first place...way simpler than googling all day :/)  Any suggestions on a great lens to buy...I'm getting to the "I'll just invest and if my dad takes back the camera I'll just buy a new one" phase...

Ahhh!