Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon 5D markIII change M focus to Auto Focus

christinelan111
Apprentice

Hi there

It's probably a very stupid question as I'm a total newb,

but I'm trying to set my auto focus mode to "one shot" on my canon 5D mark iii but it's stuck in M focus. I've set it to reset to factory setting but it's still  the same. how to I change that? 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

"After going in quick access mode, I do see the Al Focus option but it's not highlighted. The only highlighted options are: “drive mode, card seletion, and image quality/ size"."

1. Press the Q button to display the quick control screen on the rear LCD.

2. Use the "joystick" to navigate to the AF setting box (currently reads "AI Focus").

3. I was incorrect, you don't need to press the "set" button. Instead, after you have navigated to the AF setting box it will be highlighted. Now use the main (top) dial to scroll through the focus modes until the one you want appears.

4. Press Q button again to close the screen.... Or half press the shutter button..... Or tap the AF On button. Any of these will take you out of setup mode and back into shooting mode.

Important: Do you have the exposure mode dial set to A+? That's a highly automated mode and I suspect it only allows you to use AI Focus mode. Switch to P, which is fully automatic Program exposure mode too, but allows you to change other camera functions freely. (Av and Tv are also automatic exposure modes, by the way.)

Alan Myers

San Jose, Calif., USA
"Walk softly and carry a big lens."
GEAR: 5DII, 7D(x2), 50D(x3), some other cameras, various lenses & accessories
FLICKR & PRINTROOM 

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

cicopo
Elite