Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-08-2014

Canon 5D Mk III

Is anyone else having this issue? Since updating firmware on my 5D the ISO button has varying levels of stickiness. Meaning when I press it and move the dial it drops out of ISO mode, sometimes immediately, sometimes after a second, and yet other times seems to work normally.
When it is immediate it makes changing ISO almost impossible.
Help! I'm losing shots because if this.
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,857
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Canon 5D Mk III


@MLeitch wrote:
Is anyone else having this issue? Since updating firmware on my 5D the ISO button has varying levels of stickiness. Meaning when I press it and move the dial it drops out of ISO mode, sometimes immediately, sometimes after a second, and yet other times seems to work normally.
When it is immediate it makes changing ISO almost impossible.
Help! I'm losing shots because if this.

The last firmware upgrade to the 5D3 was more than a year ago. If the problem you describe were firmware-related, it should have been widely reported by now.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-08-2014

Re: Canon 5D Mk III

Okay, so you are saying it is not firmware related. It really comes across as a programming bug of some kind because the physical action of the buttons appears the same. Anyone else?
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,857
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Canon 5D Mk III


@MLeitch wrote:
Okay, so you are saying it is not firmware related. It really comes across as a programming bug of some kind because the physical action of the buttons appears the same. Anyone else?

I'm not presuming to say what it is or isn't. I'm just saying that the fact that the current firware has been out for a year argues against it being a firmware problem. Otherwise, where are all the complaints?

 

Are you at the latest firmware release (2.0.5, as I recall)?

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA
VIP
Posts: 10,840
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Canon 5D Mk III

It is not the firmware.  It is something else.  The firmware was just coincidence.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV, along with less and less other stuff.
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,799
Registered: ‎06-11-2013

Re: Canon 5D Mk III

I'm not seeing this issue on my 5DIII with latest firmware. Are you confident that you aren't inadvertently pressing some other button which cancels the mode?
Tim Campbell
5D III, 5D IV, 60Da
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement