cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon 5D Mark IV Live view and Focus point Freeze up

RoyC
Contributor

Hello! I've been shooting with a Canon 5D Mark IV for a few months now and have had this problem occur on multiple occasions. I'll be shooting tethered to my Mac, using Capture one 11 and suddently my computer controls to shoot will stop working in capture, my focus point wont change or move and my Live view won't open. It's happened about 8 times now. I can fix it by just turning my camera on and off, but in the middle of a model shoot it seems unprofessional to have to stop. Anyone have a sovle to this problem or similar issues?

6 REPLIES 6

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

@RoyC wrote:

Hello! I've been shooting with a Canon 5D Mark IV for a few months now and have had this problem occur on multiple occasions. I'll be shooting tethered to my Mac, using Capture one 11 and suddently my computer controls to shoot will stop working in capture, my focus point wont change or move and my Live view won't open. It's happened about 8 times now. I can fix it by just turning my camera on and off, but in the middle of a model shoot it seems unprofessional to have to stop. Anyone have a sovle to this problem or similar issues?

Does this happen with other cameras?  It could be a software problem.  

Just because it worked a few months ago with a different camera body does not mean much.  Apple does have a habit of releasing updates to their Operating System that may break existing applications. 

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

Mine use to do this but I realized it is usually when using an LP-E6 rather than an LP-E6N battery! 

tmc784
Enthusiast

It might be caused by the computer software . Not the Mark IV issue.