cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon 5D Mark III firmware wishlist/feature request.

DeckardSolo
Apprentice

Auto ISO one-touch Custom Control:

As a photographer my niche is in child and pet portraits.  So I shoot Manual and fix my exposure at 1/500 shutter speed and f/2.8 aperture with Auto ISO.  The SET->ISO custom control beautifully allows me to do exposure compensation in ISO because it only takes 3 clicks of the Main Dial to add 1-stop EV.  But there is no quick way to turn Auto ISO back on.

For example, if Auto ISO is reading ISO-1600 it only takes 3 clicks to get ISO-3200 using the Main Dial and SET->ISO Custom Control.  But it takes 17 clicks of the Main Dial with the top ISO button to turn Auto ISO back on. [Note: Auto ISO cannot be set with SET->ISO]

I am proposing a Custom Control for one-touch Auto ISO to provide a very fast and easy way to switch to Auto ISO.
This functionality could be included in the existing SET->ISO Custom Control:
1) Holding SET and turning the Main Dial selects ISO. [Current functionality]
2) Pressing SET selects Auto ISO

If this dual context in buttons is not possible then the Custom Control options could be any/all of:
1) AF-ON -> Auto ISO
2) * -> Auto ISO

3) Start/Stop -> Auto ISO [I think a lot of action photographers aren't using LiveView]

Thank you for your consideration.

-DS

Others all welcome to add their own wishlist.

4 REPLIES 4

Carerra911
Contributor

I would also like to see,  when bracketing with self timer and using the mirror lock up function, the camera will only take the first bracketed shot, so you must repress the shutter for the second, but under the HDR menu, and shooting the same setup with mirror lockup, the camera will automatically take 3 consecutively shots, (with mirror lockup)

I am hoping a small firmware fix can help make this possible in any other mode other than HDR also,

www.louisamore.com

georg_m
Apprentice