cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon 5D Mark III Overheating Issue

crfoto
Apprentice
Hi! Thanks to anybody reading this entry.

In advance I would like to apologise for my English. I'm Dominican.

Back in May, I purchased a second hand 5D Mark 3, and started using it for all my jobs. I'm a wedding photographer, and I have previously owned a SL1, a 60D, 6D and now my 5D 3. My camera has about a 75K shutter count, and over time I have noticed how my camera will overheat within about 6 minutes of recording, about 8 minutes in live view and if I'm only shooting pictures, it will take about 20 minutes under direct sunlight to fully shut down and stop working. I use both LP-E6 and LP-E6 N batteries. I shoot with Sandisk Extreme Pro cards, both SD and CF. Even when just using live view with no memory card the camera will overheat and while recording with just one card it will still shut down in the times mentioned above. I have shot in indoors with optimal temperatures, and the camera will still overheat, I use Sigma Art and Tamron G2 lenses so it's not because compatibility issues or anything else I could say, I use Canons 600EX flashes too. So I guess there shouldn't be any issues with my setup, however the camera still manages to overheat. I don't know what else to try, and since we don't have canon authorized service here, I don't want to put my camera in anybody's hands. Has anybody experienced something similar? Any advice or questions?
3 REPLIES 3

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

Send it in to Canon, and have them clean and check it out.  Since it is used, it is probably a good idea, anyway.

Most any DSLR sensor will eventually overheat after extended use in video mode.  Most of the time Live View mode will shut itself off after a minute or so.  But, I would think you should be able to get more than a few minutes of video from a 5D3.

--------------------------------------------------------