Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 713
Registered: ‎12-24-2013

Re: Canon 1000D : ERR 01 message with 70-300 lens

Yes, it is because it is a 3rd party (no-Canon) lens from the film era that just happens to not be compatible with the newer Canon Digital cameras.  

 

Not all film eras lenses have this problem and sometimes the manufacturer could "re-chip" the lens to make it work properly again. 

 

Mike Sowsun
S110, SL1, 80D, 5D Mk III
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎10-31-2014

Re: Canon 1000D : ERR 01 message with 70-300 lens

its in av mode also while were testing. should i try a diff setting ?
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎10-31-2014

Re: Canon 1000D : ERR 01 message with 70-300 lens

[ Edited ]

well heck, guess i should save $100 and get the 75-300 Canon lens that I was going to get anyway.. thats what happens when you try to go the cheap route huh Smiley Happy  I only gave $20.00 for this lens and it gets good pics otherwise.. maybe i should throw it on ebay 

Reputable Contributor
Posts: 713
Registered: ‎12-24-2013

Re: Canon 1000D : ERR 01 message with 70-300 lens

No, your best bet is to leave it in Av mode and at f/4 at 70mm.  It will automatically change to f/5.6 as you zoom out to 300mm.

 

It would also do the same in Manual mode but then you would have to adjust the shutter speed manually to get the right exposure. 

 

If you put it in P or Tv or any other auto mode,  the camera will sometimes stop down the lens to something like f/8 if it is bright out and you will get the error again.   

Mike Sowsun
S110, SL1, 80D, 5D Mk III
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎10-31-2014

Re: Canon 1000D : ERR 01 message with 70-300 lens

that makes sence, it does that in auto.  i guess it is what it is, a $20.00 lens..  Smiley Happy

Reputable Contributor
Posts: 713
Registered: ‎12-24-2013

Re: Canon 1000D : ERR 01 message with 70-300 lens

For $20 you got a pretty good deal.   You could sell it, or just keep it, and remember to always shoot it wide open. 

 

 

Mike Sowsun
S110, SL1, 80D, 5D Mk III
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎10-31-2014

Re: Canon 1000D : ERR 01 message with 70-300 lens

I'm looking at one on ebay now. Canon 75-300 for $61.00 (so far). I see they were $200.00 New. so I guess upwards of $100.00 is about right. Thank You for all of your information and the help !!
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 713
Registered: ‎12-24-2013

Re: Canon 1000D : ERR 01 message with 70-300 lens

[ Edited ]

The 75-300 is an okay lens but the best Canon telephoto zoom lens for your camera right now is the 55-250mm IS or the 55-250mm IS II or the 55-250mm STM.

 

These lenses are better because the Image Stabilization really helps keep the image sharp with slow shutter speeds and they also have better optics. 

 

You should be able to get a 55-250mm IS for about $100-$125.  ebay 55-250mm IS

 

 

Here are a bunch of "buy-it-now" for about $100 plus shipping:  ebay 55-250 IS "Buy-It-Now" 

 

_55-250.jpg

Mike Sowsun
S110, SL1, 80D, 5D Mk III
VIP
Posts: 11,351
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Canon 1000D : ERR 01 message with 70-300 lens

[ Edited ]

The Canon EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III Lens, which is on it's third version, is also a very "cheap" lens.  It is not a good canidate to buy used unless you get a return privilege.  You may be looking at version 1 or 2 which will be worth less.  The build is not the best but at least it should work for you.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-03-2014

Re: Canon 1000D : ERR 01 message with 70-300 lens

Over the weekend, I was shooting with my 6D at an airshow.  The camera gave me the same error using my 70-200 2.8L lens.  It also happened when I was shooting continuous and several times....  Not only that, but it corrupted 2 SD cards Sandisk Extreme PRO 32GB....  I only use the best equipment and want an answer to this from Canon ASAP!!!  I had this happen a total of 4 times on Saturday....  It seems to me like a buffer is getting full and overloading the camera which is clearly a software issue....  Looking forward to an answer.....

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement