Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-24-2013

Re: Cannot communicate with battery - 7D

Interesting.  I was recently on the line with the Repair center and was curtei;ously asked it I had other issues.  You guessed it, I chimed in with this one.  I was referred to another tech person, who acknowledged to problem and listened attentively to my gripe.  He of course could/could not commit in either way.  He did however send me a form to complete to report it.  I'll get to that later.  

 

BTW:  The fix referred to earlier, did not work for my 60D.  Other suggetions?

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-13-2014

Re: Cannot communicate with battery - 7D

updating my canon 7d firmware and installing magic lantern on it seemed to fix my 7d from draining the battery  and no longer does my 7d ask me if i should use the battery even though it cannot communicate to it, it still does not show power bar setting on the display, only in magic lantern does it show the level of power the battery has

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-20-2014

Re: Cannot communicate with battery - 7D

What is this Magic Lantern you speak of?
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-13-2014

Re: Cannot communicate with battery - 7D

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-20-2014

Re: Cannot communicate with battery - 7D

This just happened to me also.  At first I couldn't even turn my camera on.  I fully charged the battery and now I get the message, "cannot communicate' with battery, I click OK and it works.  Just can't see if the battery is charged or not.  

Camera worked perfectly fine last week, when I shot over 20 gigs of images on  a trip.  What caused it to happen?

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-20-2014

Re: Cannot communicate with battery - 7D

THANKS !!!

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-01-2013

Re: Cannot communicate with battery - 7D

This is exactly how it all started with me Sandy back in October '13, I still think no one here including myself - on this thread at least has a solid answer. Lot of run around replies from Canon on this popular defect.

Just because the camera works with this error, it will drain the batteries faster. How old is your camera, hopefully it's under warranty? I purchased mine back in 2010, I did get it fixed..it's not cheap ($275, not including the 6%tax) Only explaination on the invoice "Adjustments to circuit board." 

As for the "Magic Lantern" it has me curious, looks like a lot of intersting addtional features. I'm just hesitant to mess with the hardware of my camera. 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-20-2014

Re: Cannot communicate with battery - 7D

Junior22.  Thanks for the info on the camera.  I bought my camera in 2009 when it first came out.  I'm sure it's not under warranty anymore.  I'm not crazy about spending money on fixing it..but if it will drain the batteries quicker, I just might have to.  Maybe I should think about upgrading to the 6D  or the mark III?????????????

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-30-2013

Re: Cannot communicate with battery - 7D

[ Edited ]

Queridos amigos,
eu tinha esse mesmo problema atraz a 4 meses. A assistência técnica enviado para a Canon do Brasil. Ao chegar a sua câmera voltou a trabalhar sem ouvese feito algumas on-line novamente. a empresa enviou a câmera de volta e ainda funciona perfeitamente.

 

I think the fact she got around 15 ums off and without the batteries, she went back to work properly.

Sorry for my english ...

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-20-2014

Re: Cannot communicate with battery - 7D

Or a NIKON or a SONY.

Spoiler
Spoiler
Cat Frustrated

 

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement