Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-27-2014

Re: Cannot communicate with battery - 7D

As I said, the most difficult time I had was in removing and replacing the plastic floor plate, John in his video used a plastic knife, tends to cause less scratching, gouging, I used a small screwdriver.  Although I didn't scratch or damage the plastic, I'll remember to keep a disposable knife handy for that purpose.

 

Thank John in Cozumel for his video.

 

Jim

 

 

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-28-2014

Re: Cannot communicate with battery - 7D

I just had this problem start about a week ago. Now fixed, thanks to Jim, owner of many Canon products, and John, who made the video.

My screw was way up in the top cover, so i had to do a lot more disassembly. Thankfully, the camera is very easy to take apart.

While disassembling, I recommend using pieces of masking tape, sticky side up, to keep track of the screws. I like to lay them out in the same relative positions as they go in the camera. I learned that lesson while working on a computer. When I was done, I discovered it was over engineered with 3 extra screws... not so with the 7D.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-09-2014

Re: Cannot communicate with battery - 7D

I was so hopeful when I saw this.   I had realised there was something rattling around inside my camera when both of my batteries stopped being recognised.

 

Followed the instructions, found and returned the loose screw to its rightful home....

(that bottom plate is tricky to get back on the camera !)

 

But no luck, same response from both batteries.

 

I will be examining the board (etc) again one evening and I might try a battery in or from another camera...

 

Keep trying.....

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-27-2014

Re: Cannot communicate with battery - 7D


@Zathrum wrote:

I was so hopeful when I saw this.   I had realised there was something rattling around inside my camera when both of my batteries stopped being recognised.

 

Followed the instructions, found and returned the loose screw to its rightful home....

(that bottom plate is tricky to get back on the camera !)

 

But no luck, same response from both batteries.

 

I will be examining the board (etc) again one evening and I might try a battery in or from another camera...

 

Keep trying.....


Unfortunately, since you heard the screw bouncing around inside, it may have shorted between some traces and may have caused attitional damage.  I'm assuming that you completely rebooted the camera, removed the main battery and the coin cell.  When you did that, you had to reset the time, etc, as it would bring the camera back to factory defaults.

 

Canon is very good at selling repair parts, if you don't know the part numbers, they are very helpful.  I don't have a diagram of the camera but believe the bottom board is the power supply board.  I'd hate to see you buy circuit boards until the problem is solved.  I was unable to find a service manual on the camera but did find a parts manual, don't have a link for it at the moment.

 

Good luck with it -  Jim

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-09-2014

Re: Cannot communicate with battery - 7D

Had another fiddle with it. Popped the button cell out and re-seated the screw. It worked ! For all of one attempt....
It did allow me to see that the battery I was using was very low in recharge-ability. Another successful attempt showed me that my other battery was in great shape.
Have ordered a new cr1616. I'm wondering if it uses that battery to power the battery condition circuit and maybe that is worn out....?
Will see....

It's just odd behaviour.....
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-21-2014

Re: Cannot communicate with battery - 7D

A new developement to this issue I've lived with for 1.5 years by taking the battery out every time I'm done with it so it doesn't drain over night.  A little background: I bought the 7D used with two batteries included that looked to be original Canon, and everything worked as it should 2011-2012.  Right before a vacation I forgot one of the batteries and the charger on the ship I work on, and replaced them with  new Canon products.  I noticed the battery looked very similar to the ones I had, but included a silver stamp area on the back with the year/month stamped into it (not pressent on the first two).  As soon as I used this new battery (and if I rememeber correctly a firmware update) I lost communication with all 3 batteries.  It was frustrating but couldn't bring myself to spend the $300+.

 

Strange thing happened today, I just bought a 7DII and while charging the included battery I popped in one of my old ones to play with settings - same error message!  I took out the battery and it was one without the date stamped.  I replaced it with the one I bought in 2012 that had the stamp, and it works fine.  It also still shows three green bars for condition so I'm happy with that.

 

This still doesn't explain why this new battery seems to have triggered the problem on the 7D, and why all 3 batteries were affected.  I dodn't know if the original 2 batteries were 3rd party made to look like Canon, or if the date stamp was a new addition later in production.

 

Well, the 7D has a buyer and the battery read issue was disclosed - told him I'd throw in a second battery.  Guess I know which 2 batteries I'll be including.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-09-2014

Re: Cannot communicate with battery - 7D

Had another fiddle with my 7D. Didn't manage a repeat of the 'life' seen with either battery. Camera is fine otherwise, no other side effects and I really do suspect the batteries rather than the camera.
Either way, I'll likely sell the 7D for a 7D2. Want that focus system and 10fps....
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-09-2014

Re: Cannot communicate with battery - 7D

Bought a 7Dmk2 and two 6N batteries. All batteries report for duty in the mk2, none in the mk1. If mk1 is left empty for a few hours to a day, it responds to any battery inserted. Open the door for a moment and no battery is good enough.
Seems like a component short somewhere.
Will have it fixed I think and maybe a new 'mode' dial and use it as a backup.
Loving the mk2.... (Except the dodgy focus behaviour....)
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-09-2014

Re: Cannot communicate with battery - 7D

Just thought I'd add that I had the battery board replaced and camera cleaned.    It feels like new and works the way it ought. Though a bit of a wallflower now that the 7D2 is my favourite new toy.   Am loving the AF system.

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-22-2015

Re: Cannot communicate with battery - 7D

Hi,

 

I had the same problem and brought my 7D to Canon.

 

I had to pay USD 95 and they replaced the DC current with the new one.

 

It is solved now and no problem at all although I am keeping the battery inside all time.

 

 

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement