Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎08-22-2013

Can I still tether my 5D1 to my computer?

I'm trying to tether my 5D to Windows, but even EOS Utlities v2 won't see it. 
Does anyone know what I need to tether it to Windows please? I'm trying to remote shoot.

Highlighted
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,101
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Can I still tether my 5D1 to my computer?

I assume it works to transfer images. Have you tried a different cable?

Highlighted
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎08-22-2013

Re: Can I still tether my 5D1 to my computer?

Tried 3 cables. It worked before I put the latest version on.
Highlighted
Honored Contributor
Posts: 6,815
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: Can I still tether my 5D1 to my computer?

Doesn't look like latest version supports 5D Mark I.

 

Capture.JPG

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LR Classic
Highlighted
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,516
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Can I still tether my 5D1 to my computer?


@jrhoffman75 wrote:

Doesn't look like latest version supports 5D Mark I.

 

Capture.JPG


Or any member of the 1D series before Mark III. I think I'd be rather upset if I'd bought one of those puppies, given the prices they were charging for them then.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA
Highlighted
Honored Contributor
Posts: 6,815
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: Can I still tether my 5D1 to my computer?

[ Edited ]

"Tried 3 cables. It worked before I put the latest version on. " (Emphasis added)

 

Or check before you update to be sure the later software supports your device. The Canon site for the 5D doesn't show an update for EOS Utility.

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LR Classic
Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 10,152
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Can I still tether my 5D1 to my computer?

If you are using Windows, you should be able to rollback an application update pretty easily.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
Highlighted
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,516
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Can I still tether my 5D1 to my computer?


@Waddizzle wrote:

If you are using Windows, you should be able to rollback an application update pretty easily.


Yes, but that may not solve your problem. If you also have a more modern camera, you may want a more recent release of EOSU 2. While you can have both EOSU2 and EOSU 3 on the computer at the same time, you can't have two copies of EOSU 2.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA
Highlighted
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎08-22-2013

Re: Can I still tether my 5D1 to my computer?

I've already got EOS U 2 and 3 on my computer but neither are now seeing the 5D. I've found another way though, I simply take shots on the 5D, then put the card into the 5DSR and tether it to transfer the photos, seems to work.

Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 10,152
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Can I still tether my 5D1 to my computer?

If you have a 5DSr, then I assume that it uses EOSU-3.  Roll back EOSU-2 for the 5D1.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement