cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Camera Upgrade Advice

ifoundnemo
Apprentice

Hi all! I am looking to upgrade my camera and would love some advice. I have a Canon Rebel T3i that I have been using for several years now, and think it is finally time for an upgrade! I mainly shoot nature (wildlife+landscapes) as a hobby photographer. I am not quite sure which camera is best for this type of shooting. Does full frame matter? I am looking to spend <2.5k, and will probably purchase a refurbished camera, as this is how I got my Rebel and it's worked perfectly since I got it.

10 REPLIES 10

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

What doesn't the Rebel do, that you need?

Mainly better low-light shooting, faster focusing, sharper images, and faster shooting for moving animals.

@ifoundnemo wrote:

Mainly better low-light shooting, faster focusing, sharper images, and faster shooting for moving animals.

If you want all of the above, then you need a 1D series camera. 

If you want better low light performance, then a full frame will be better, 6D or 5D Mark III camera.

If you want faster shooting [fps] for moving animals, then I'd look at a 7D Mark II.  The 80D might approach the 7DII in this regard, but the 7DII may focus faster and get sharper pictures as a result.

If you simply want sharper images, in general, then buying a better lens just may be the ticket.

IMG_2015_09_190383.WEB.jpg

Taken with a T5, EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM, 1/500 sec, f/8, ISO-100, 10mm

IMG_2016_06_170489.jpg

Taken with a T5 and an EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro Lens.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

TTMartin
Authority
Authority

@ifoundnemo wrote: