Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CAnon EOS 6D ii Q button menu

pinnkoob
Contributor

Hi 

I am new to this so please be kind 🙂

I got a 6D ii to replace my old 7D.

I notice all of a sudden that when I try to set my shutter speed in th Q menu, it only goes as far as 1/180 and no more, though I could before.

Obviously I have pressed/set something that is not allowing this and I cannot think what this is.

Incidentally, using the little wheel at tghe top I can set this to anything I want. While ythis is a small thing, it is irritating. 

Please can a kind soul please help?

Pinks

5 REPLIES 5

rs-eos
Elite
Elite

You must be using a flash.  The EOS 6D's maximum flash sync speed is 1/180 s.  So the camera will limit the shutter speed.  To shoot with higher shutters, you'll need to enable high-speed sync.   When not using a flash, you'll be able to use any shutter speed the camera is capable of.

If you're _not_ using a flash, and your camera is limiting you to 1/180 s, try resetting the camera.

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

Hi Ricky,

Thank you so much for your reply.

I do use a MR-14EX ring flash on a 100mm macro lens - I need to as I use this camera primarily to shoot intra-oral dental images.

My preffered shutter speed for this is 1/200 with f stop 25 and ISO 100 - which is what i have always had in my previous cameras...

So please how do I enable high speed sync?

Pinks

See page 26 of the User Manual for how to put the flash into high-speed sync (HSS).  You can then use whatever shutter value you want.