cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Buying Used Canon EOS 80D w/ 3 Lenses - Advice Needed

enelaura1
Apprentice

Hi All!

I recently came across a great deal on a Canon EOS 80D with 3 lenses (55-250mm, 75-300mm, 50mm) selling for $1,000. This seems like a steal but wanted to get the community opinion. The person selling is upgrading to a new camera and apparently has only had this one for a year. I have a friend who has the same camera and bought it last year for $2,500 with just one lens.

I'm a beginner and don't know much about what to look for when purchasing a used camera, any advice would be appreciated. 

Thanks!

5 REPLIES 5

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

@enelaura1wrote:

Hi All!

I recently came across a great deal on a Canon EOS 80D with 3 lenses (55-250mm, 75-300mm, 50mm) selling for $1,000. This seems like a steal but wanted to get the community opinion. The person selling is upgrading to a new camera and apparently has only had this one for a year. I have a friend who has the same camera and bought it last year for $2,500 with just one lens.

I'm a beginner and don't know much about what to look for when purchasing a used camera, any advice would be appreciated. 

Thanks!

Don’t buy it, most especially from online auction sites.  Don’t buy used until you know what you looking at and for.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

ScottyP
Authority

New, that's a hair over $500.00 in lenses and up to $1,000.00 for the camera body.  A bit less if you buy the camera and the 18-55 lens together.  It's probably a decent price for used.  You could probably get a hundred off, especially buying all of it together. 

The 75-300 is junk though. I'd rather take the camera and the other two lenses and have him deduct a hundred or a bit more. 

How is it being sold?  Craigslist?  Can you examine and try out the camera and lenses?  

Scott