cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Back button focus

John_SD
Whiz

I can't believe I've been shooting for nigh on 2 1/2 months already and I haven't set up back button focus.

Please correct me if I'm wrong. My understanding is that by taking AF off the shutter button and reassigning it to the AE lock button (*), one of the big benefits with this bbf is that on an IS STM lenses or focus by wire that go to sleep, I could more easily wake it up by hitting the bbf button. I don't believe I've ever even used the AE lock button for AE and don't see much need for it in my shooting.  Plus, STM or no, it just seems more convenient to do bbf. Is my reasoning on the right track? 

BTW, I saw Canon EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM Lens (White Box) on B&H for $399. About $150.00 less than Canon-boxed retail. 

9 REPLIES 9

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

You will love that lens.  Buy a genuine Canon hood for it, too.  Many of the third party hoods just screw onto the front of the lens, and the petals of the hood often show up in the frame, which causes vignetting.  Besides, a genuine Canon hood can be mounted in a reverse orientation, as a storage position.

Using BBF is a love it, or hate it, feature.  I like it, myself.  I can pre-focus, and take a photo much faster when I press the shutter because I don't have to wait for the camera to focus before it fires the shutter.  If you like it, that's great.  You're customizing your camera, and honing your skills.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

@Waddizzle wrote:

You will love that lens.  Buy a genuine Canon hood for it, too.  Many of the third party hoods just screw onto the front of the lens, and the petals of the hood often show up in the frame, which causes vignetting.  Besides, a genuine Canon hood can be mounted in a reverse orientation, as a storage position.