cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Auto focus won't focus

Cahoon38
Contributor

Hi all:

I'm just getting into my 70D and like it a lot. One thing that's happened twice lately. I was shooting a signature on a metallic object and the camera wouldn't take the shot. I figured there wasn't enough contrast and went to Manual and manual focus. Same thing, the camera wouldn't focus OR take the shot. BTW, the green dot in the view finder was blinking sigifying no focs. I then tried to overide it again by going to Bulb. Again, the same thing. I eventually fooled the camera by focusing on something close to what I wanted and then moved the camera and took the shot.

My question: how do you overide the AF - or can you?

Thanks to those that answer.

17 REPLIES 17

@Cahoon38 wrote:

I meant, when I get into a situation where the camer won't focus, I'll have to resort to "fooling" it.

The thing about this situation that pisses me off is that the camera won't allow a shot to be taken. If the green "out of focus" indicator comes on, then it doesn't allow a shot to be taken. Any camera should allow a shot to be taken even if it's overexposed or underexposed or even out of focus.

However, I have to say that I don't have a lot of experiece with the camera yet - and am comparing it to others I've had.

When the camera's focus mode is set to 'One Shot' it requires that the camera confirm focus prior to the releasing the shutter.

When the camera is in AIServo mode, it will take the photo even when focus has not been achieved.

There is a AF/MF switch on the lens that allows you to change from Auto Focus (AF) to Manual Focus (MF). When in MF (Manual Focus) you can focus manually and take the photo regardless of the AF mode the camera is set to (i.e. One Shot/AIFocus/AIServo).

Even though you read the manual before, now that you've had some experience with the camera it would be a good idea to go back and read it again.