cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Auto focus won't focus

Cahoon38
Contributor

Hi all:

I'm just getting into my 70D and like it a lot. One thing that's happened twice lately. I was shooting a signature on a metallic object and the camera wouldn't take the shot. I figured there wasn't enough contrast and went to Manual and manual focus. Same thing, the camera wouldn't focus OR take the shot. BTW, the green dot in the view finder was blinking sigifying no focs. I then tried to overide it again by going to Bulb. Again, the same thing. I eventually fooled the camera by focusing on something close to what I wanted and then moved the camera and took the shot.

My question: how do you overide the AF - or can you?

Thanks to those that answer.

17 REPLIES 17

cicopo
Elite

Turn OFF the switch on THE LENS. It's not done with a control on the camera.

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

TTMartin
Authority
Authority

@Cahoon38 wrote:

Hi all:

I'm just getting into my 70D and like it a lot. One thing that's happened twice lately. I was shooting a signature on a metallic object and the camera wouldn't take the shot. I figured there wasn't enough contrast and went to Manual and manual focus. Same thing, the camera wouldn't focus OR take the shot. BTW, the green dot in the view finder was blinking sigifying no focs. I then tried to overide it again by going to Bulb. Again, the same thing. I eventually fooled the camera by focusing on something close to what I wanted and then moved the camera and took the shot.

My question: how do you overide the AF - or can you?

Thanks to those that answer.

Please read the manual for your camera. Being in Manual or Bulb mode have nothing to do with the focus settings of your camera.