cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

About turning the focus dial while in autofocus... Please help!

cameranewbie123
Apprentice

First of all... I am using the Canon T7i, with the 24mm Canon pancake STM lens.

I'm a complete newbie to DSLR cameras. I turned my camera on for the first time, and it was in autofocus mode. I was trying to take a photo. The image I wanted to focus on wasn't being focused on, and I was confused. So, I turned the focus dial. The dial turned smoothly, but nothing happened. Nothing focused.

I later realized that in autofocus mode, you actually have to hold the shoot button halfway down for it to autofocus. I wasn't doing that originally; I was just aiming at something assuming it would autofocus, just like it does when shooting video. Apparently for shooting photos, you have to hold the shoot button down for it to autofocus.

So, since I didn't hold the shoot button down when I turned the dial during autofocus, does this mean that there could be no possible damage to my camera or to the lens? I guess damage can only be caused if you hold the shoot button down while turning the dial in autofocus mode?

8 REPLIES 8

diverhank
Authority

I think you were Ok in doing so.  For this lens, like other STM design, the focus is by-wire implementation - no mechanical linkage when you turn the ring.  As you stated, in order for the full time MF feature to work, the shutter button has to be half pressed.  So when you turned the ring without holding the shutter button. the movement was ignored by all.

================================================
Diverhank's photos on Flickr

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

cameranewbie123,

In addition to what diverhank mentioned, keep the following in mind.  Lenses have a minimum focus distance as well.  The 24 pancake is 6.3 in (16cm).  Objects closer to the lens than this distance will never be in focus using AF or MF.