cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AV mode but cant adjust exposure

ryanmccor
Apprentice

Please forgive me as I am not an expert and trying to learn how to use a camera.  I have a Canon EOS 7D and I have been using it the last few nights in AV mode.  I would see if the picture was a bit dark then I would spin the dial on the back (to the right of the screen) and it would brighten my image.  Tonight when I tried to do that and spin the dial on the back while in AV mode it would not move the meter at all when I look through the camera.  Have I somehow locked that function?  I feel like such a rookie and really dont know who to ask.  Thanks for any assitance.  

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

ryanmccor
Apprentice

Thanks for all the suggestions and help!

Being so inexperienced with such an awesome piece of equiptment is overwhelming.  I realized what happened and am totally embarrased to even admit it LOL

Under the spin wheel there is a LOCK button, it was slighlty moved locking my ability to adjust

Thanks again for how quickly you guys stepped up to help me, thats really awesome and I am very appreciate of that!

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

Skirball
Authority

I've done this a few times on my 6D, and haven't fully figured out what I did wrong to put it in this mode.  But essentially I was accidently making it adjust some other setting (maybe by pressing the buttons on the dial?) and therefore turning the dial wouldn't do anythign to the EC.  Turning it off and on fixed it, but I think I was able to clear it just by half pressing the shutter button.

Sorry, it's only happened a few times as I don't normally shoot in Auto, so I haven't totally figured out what I did yet.

ryanmccor
Apprentice

Thanks for offering your advice!

I should state that I did try turning it off and on and I also reset the camera to factory settings and I am still having the same problem.