cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AEL doesn't lock

arogers
Contributor

Why is it that on say a 5Dm4 or 5DS the AEL feature turns itself OFF the very moment I take a shot and then get into the menu/screen system.  I am a wedding photographer and sometimes I like to lock the exposure (e.g. a sunset) and then adjust the flash output on my Bride using the menu system which is easier to do rather than on the flash head itself in the dark.  In other words AEL is not 100% locking if you want to do anything with the menu after taking the shot.   Unless I am doing something wrong?

14 REPLIES 14

@arogers wrote:

Why is it that on say a 5Dm4 or 5DS the AEL feature turns itself OFF the very moment I take a shot and then get into the menu/screen system.  I am a wedding photographer and sometimes I like to lock the exposure (e.g. a sunset) and then adjust the flash output on my Bride using the menu system which is easier to do rather than on the flash head itself in the dark.  In other words AEL is not 100% locking if you want to do anything with the menu after taking the shot.   Unless I am doing something wrong?

In the case you cite, why not just expose for the sunset and let the flash decide on the amount of light needed for the bride? I believe any ETTL speedlite has a mode that lets it do that. Then you don't have to mess with the menus after you've locked the exposure. Indeed, I don't think you even have to lock the exposure.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA