cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

90D and 7Dii Registration failure...

nadine8100
Contributor

Hey everyone, 

This is my first time on the forums here, please forgive me and direct me to where I should post this if I have submitted incorrectly... I have been trying to register my 7Dii and new 90D on canon's website and it says the registration number is not valid. I entered and reentered these numbers, I know they were correct, I triple checked everything else. I don't know what the issue is and it's upsetting me. Has anyone else ran into this issue? 

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance! 

-Nick

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Were there U.S. warranty cards packed with the gear with the serial numbers on them?  If not they are almost certainly gray market. It doesn't mean anything is wrong with the gear but you should have gotten a large discount because they don't come with the standard manufacturer's warranty.

Some authorized dealers also have some "international" products but the dealers I am familiar with state this VERY clearly in the product description.  As to Ebay, I doubt if there is any real enforcement to prevent a seller not authorized by Canon to stick a Canon logo on his seller site and Canon could keep a crew busy forever trying to deal with that sort of chicanery.

I knowingly acquired a gray market 5DS R a few months ago via a Japanese friend because he found an excellent deal while traveling and the price was low enough to take a chance on forgoing a warranty.  A lot of ebay sellers had the same camera at a higher price, still "gray market", but still considerably less than the U.S. version from an authorized dealer.  It is fine to take a known risk on a gray market product but if it was represented as a U.S. official warranty product then you have reason to complain to ebay.

Rodger

EOS 1DX M3, 1DX M2, 1DX, 5DS R, M6 Mark II, 1D M2, EOS 650 (film), many lenses, XF400 video