Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-20-2018

80D cannot select RAW as a Image-Recording Quality

I just recently got into photography so my apologies if this question is a little ridiculous. I’ve been tinkering with this and for the life of me I cannot get my camera to select RAW as a image-recording quality in any mode other than A+. In all other modes P, Tv, Av, M, and B the selections are greyed out. I’ve tried reformatting my card, changing shooting modes, and reading the manual (it shows how to select them, but says nothing about why to do when you cannot select them) any help would be tremendously appreciated! Thanks in advance.

-Eric
VIP
Posts: 8,340
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: 80D cannot select RAW as a Image-Recording Quality

I think you may have been tinkering with settings a little too much.  Try resetting the camera back to factory defaults.

There are a couple of modes of operation that only work with JPEG files.  One of them might be in-camera HDR shooting.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
VIP
Posts: 11,353
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: 80D cannot select RAW as a Image-Recording Quality

Eric you need to reset the camera to default.  Clear all settings. Raw is not available with all settings.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,414
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: 80D cannot select RAW as a Image-Recording Quality


@ebiggs1 wrote:

Eric you need to reset the camera to default.  Clear all settings. Raw is not available with all settings.


I believe it is. Image size is one of the few custom settings that does NOT have a little star indicating that it is only available in creative modes.

 

From my T6S manual:

 

Untitled.jpg

VIP
Posts: 11,353
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: 80D cannot select RAW as a Image-Recording Quality

Possibly, I bow to a real 80D owner as I am not. I am only going by what I see in other models. However the fact they mention it in the manual suggests it is a possibility. A reset can't hurt and may help.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Highlighted
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎07-22-2017

Re: 80D cannot select RAW as a Image-Recording Quality

Set the mode dial to M and than you can set RAW as your format. It will keep it no matter what mode you are in. 

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement