Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-14-2020

80D Microphone with RODE VideoMic Go

Hello friends!

 

I have been having an issue with using the RODE VideoMic Go with the Canon EOS 80D and it entails an issue where the microphone only picks up static and no audio. I have to tap the wire head a couple of times to get the microphone to start working again. Then after a couple minutes of recording, the audio captures nothing but static (or white noise) while recording. Would you happen to think that the wire needs to be replaced or should I send in my 80D for a repair service at Canon?

 

Your reply is greatly appreciated, 

 

John Peralta

Highlighted
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎11-14-2018

Re: 80D Microphone with RODE VideoMic Go

[ Edited ]

When you say wire head which end of the wire do you mean?  If the mic is not hard wired to the cable then I would try a new cable.  Also try a different mic if you have one.  Edit:  also is the problem only with "VideoMic Go"?

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-14-2020

7D Mark II does not stop shooting

Hello.  When I turn on my 7D Mark II it just shoots (shutter releases) continuously and the menu function is disabled.  This just happened recently after I used it, for the first time ever, to make a video.  Am I missing something or does it need to be repaired?  Thanks..

 

https://www.flickr.com/photos/josemarte17/50006564833/in/dateposted-public/

Highlighted
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 2,148
Registered: ‎11-19-2017

Re: 7D Mark II does not stop shooting


@josemarte17 wrote:

Hello.  When I turn on my 7D Mark II it just shoots (shutter releases) continuously and the menu function is disabled.  This just happened recently after I used it, for the first time ever, to make a video.  Am I missing something or does it need to be repaired?  Thanks..

 

https://www.flickr.com/photos/josemarte17/50006564833/in/dateposted-public/


Greetings,

This is a thread about an 80D and Rode Mic.  Can you please start your own thread.  Use the new message button, so that your issue gets the visibility and attention it deserves.

~Rick
Bay Area - CA
~6D2 ~Many Lenses ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~Windows10 Pro ~EVGA RTX 2080 FTW3 Ultra ~Pixma Pro-100
Highlighted
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 2,148
Registered: ‎11-19-2017

Re: 80D Microphone with RODE VideoMic Go

[ Edited ]

Greetngs,

Could definitely be an issue with the cable or camera...  However, there is one other thing to check.  

 

Rode Mics have a built in amplifier and can dynamically adjust gain which might cause static or distorted sound during recording.  Se  page 312 of your user guide.

 

http://pdisp01.c-wss.com/gdl/WWUFORedirectTarget.do?id=MDMwMDAyMjQ1NDAz&cmp=ABR&lang=EN

 

Consider changing the Mic setting from Auto to Manual and restest.

 

From Rode's Website

 

Why do I get a low level noise sound when recording on my camera?-

  • This is usually caused by the function of "Automatic Gain Control" or "AGC" on the camera.

     

    Basically, when the camera cannot sense an audio input signal it automatically increases the gain of the input. It is increased so much that the noise floor in the camera microphone amplifier becomes audible .

     

    The AGC can be disabled on some cameras and it is worth checking with you camera manufacturer for information on this, which can sometimes require a firmware update to the camera.

     

    RØDE have created the VideoMic Pro to help combat this issue, the VideoMic Pro contains a 20dB pre amplifier, boosting the mic signal so that the camera will see a good signal level and not engage its AGC.  We recommend setting your audio levels manually to achieve an optimum signal to noise ratio and disabling the AGC of the camera.

     

Don't know if this applies in your case, but should be considerd.  Your Camera does not have an "ACG" function, but it does have a manual settings for adjusting recording levels.

 

~Rick
Bay Area - CA
~6D2 ~Many Lenses ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~Windows10 Pro ~EVGA RTX 2080 FTW3 Ultra ~Pixma Pro-100
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-14-2020

Re: 80D Microphone with RODE VideoMic Go

[ Edited ]

@CaliforniaDream wrote:

When you say wire head which end of the wire do you mean?  If the mic is not hard wired to the cable then I would try a new cable.  Also try a different mic if you have one.  Edit:  also is the problem only with "VideoMic Go"?



The part that goes into the camera jack for input. I'll try a different cable then move onto another mic and try that. The VideoMic Go is all I have as a mic, but I should probably look into an upgrade if that's the case.

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-14-2020

Re: 80D Microphone with RODE VideoMic Go

I'll definitely check this out as well, but I don't think this is the case as the volume abruptly cuts out and just turns to static no matter how our volume is. It makes a sound as if someone unplugged the mic, even though it remains plugged in.


@shadowsports wrote:

Greetngs,

Could definitely be an issue with the cable or camera...  However, there is one other thing to check.  

 

Rode Mics have a built in amplifier and can dynamically adjust gain which might cause static or distorted sound during recording.  Se  page 312 of your user guide.

 

http://pdisp01.c-wss.com/gdl/WWUFORedirectTarget.do?id=MDMwMDAyMjQ1NDAz&cmp=ABR&lang=EN

 

Consider changing the Mic setting from Auto to Manual and restest.

 

From Rode's Website

 

Why do I get a low level noise sound when recording on my camera?-

  • This is usually caused by the function of "Automatic Gain Control" or "AGC" on the camera.

     

    Basically, when the camera cannot sense an audio input signal it automatically increases the gain of the input. It is increased so much that the noise floor in the camera microphone amplifier becomes audible .

     

    The AGC can be disabled on some cameras and it is worth checking with you camera manufacturer for information on this, which can sometimes require a firmware update to the camera.

     

    RØDE have created the VideoMic Pro to help combat this issue, the VideoMic Pro contains a 20dB pre amplifier, boosting the mic signal so that the camera will see a good signal level and not engage its AGC.  We recommend setting your audio levels manually to achieve an optimum signal to noise ratio and disabling the AGC of the camera.

     

Don't know if this applies in your case, but should be considerd.  Your Camera does not have an "ACG" function, but it does have a manual settings for adjusting recording levels.

 


 

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement