Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-02-2019

80D Drive question

On my much older T2i there was a drive mode on self timer where I was able to select the camera to shoot 10 pictures in a row on self timer. For example, I could put it on a tripod and have it set to take 30 second exposures 10 straight times, something I would do for example in capturing lightning shots. Does the 80D have this feature, because I can’t seem to find it?
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 620
Registered: ‎01-25-2018

Re: 80D Drive question

You will need a Canon TC-80N3 Timer/Remote Controller for this function with your 80D.  Or you could probably find a third party device that MAY meet your needs for less than the Canon product. 

 

I have owned my TC-80N since I bought it with my 1D M2 back in 2005 and it has worked well.

 

Rodger

EOS 1DX M2, 1DX, 1D M2, EOS 650 (film), many lenses, XF400 video
VIP
Posts: 11,666
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: 80D Drive question

" I could put it on a tripod and have it set to take 30 second exposures 10 straight times..."

 

I had a T2i way back there and was not aware it could do that! Ya learn somptin' every day it seems.  Smiley Happy

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,992
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: 80D Drive question

Rebel at least up through T6s has the setting; 80D does not.

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LRCC Classic
VIP
Posts: 8,627
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: 80D Drive question

... page from 80D Instruction Manual

 

65F3B066-DEA3-47FF-97A0-5F52E984C11B.jpeg

 

the 80D appears to have interval shooting.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,992
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: 80D Drive question

Not the same as OP had with T2i, but a more useful feature. I would assume that initial shot could be actuated via 80D self timer.

 

canon.jpg

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LRCC Classic
VIP
Posts: 11,666
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: 80D Drive question

I never had a newer Rebel than the T2i.
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
VIP
Posts: 8,627
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: 80D Drive question

[ Edited ]

@jrhoffman75 wrote:

Not the same as OP had with T2i, but a more useful feature.

 

I would assume that initial shot could be actuated via 80D self timer.

 

 


Yes, it works with the interval timer.  I just tested with the 2 second timer taking shots every 3 seconds.  Total shots was 3.

 

I suppose one would need to be careful to when using the delay timer.  The interval needs to always be longer than the shutter delay timer.  When I increased the shutter delay to 10 seconds, all I got was one exposure!  The interval timer should have captured 3 shots over the course of 9 seconds!  Again, the camera captured only one exposure in this scenario.

 

Back to the first scenario, with shutter delay set for 2 seconds and the interval set for 3 seconds.  The shots were captured 3 seconds apart.  Hmm.  Does that mean that I created a custom shutter delay?

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,992
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: 80D Drive question

So self timer is applied to each shot?

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LRCC Classic
Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 8,627
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: 80D Drive question


@jrhoffman75 wrote:

So self timer is applied to each shot?


Good question.  It seems that the longer interval may take priority over the shorter interval. 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement