Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-21-2020

Re: 7d mkii Menu screen/shutter actuation issues

Thanks for the responses yall, but she's still not functioning. The screen works, it throws me the self-cleaning animation when I shut it off, but is black any other time. The top lcd works, and shows exposure changes I make via the rotary, the viewfinder is similarly responsive.

The last several times I've turned it on, the shutter hasn't actuated on its own, but I can get it to actuate when I hit the shutter release.
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-21-2020

Re: 7d mkii Menu screen/shutter actuation issues

Can't* get it to actuate.
Highlighted
Honored Contributor
Posts: 6,402
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: 7d mkii Menu screen/shutter actuation issues

Okay. Are you saying that if you press the Menu button nothing happens?

 

Remove the card from the camera, format in your computer and reinstall. Try a different card if you have one.

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LR Classic
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-21-2020

Re: 7d mkii Menu screen/shutter actuation issues

Correct, the screen is unresponsive to any button presses.

I have tried using several different cards, it does not seem to make a difference.
Highlighted
Honored Contributor
Posts: 6,402
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: 7d mkii Menu screen/shutter actuation issues

[ Edited ]

Did anything happen to the camera that you are aware of - dropped, got wet?

 

Switch lens to manual focus. Then camera will expose even if focus can't be achieved.

Try installing Canon EOS Utility. Then you could try actuating camera via mouse and computer.

 

EOSU writes the file to the computer. 

After this round of troubleshooting give Canon a call at (866) 261-9362. 

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LR Classic
Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 12,252
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: 7d mkii Menu screen/shutter actuation issues

At this point none of this self-help stuff is going to fix it.  Like I said it's free and easy but as you found out, usually doesn't help either.

Do call Canon a 7D Mk II is too great camera to not let Canon fix it.  

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Highlighted
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,292
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: 7d mkii Menu screen/shutter actuation issues


@rs-eos wrote:

For those cameras that offer the feature, definitely consider saving all settings to an SD card as a backup.  That way, should you ever need to reset things, you can reload all your customizations easily.


I'm under the impression that only the 1D series cameras have that. Am I wrong? It would certainly be a useful feature on any camera.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement