cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

7D Video Too Bright

PaulaRay
Contributor

Hi, I'm fairly new to the 7D. I thought I had all my video settings correct, but when taking a video outside it is either too bright or washed out. I set all my settings in Manual mode then I saved it to a custom setting. Upon taking video, my Exposure Level Meter is automatically metering very high. I would sincerely appreciate it if anyone could point me into the right direction for correction. Thanks, Ray 

My settings are as follows;  

• Quick Mode
  • 1920x1080 @24frames
  • Shutter Speed - 1/50
  • Aperture - f/2.8
  • ISO - 160
  • AF Point Expansion
  • Landscape
  • Cloudy (used for warmth)
  • Evalutive
  • Auto Lighting Optimizer - Off
5 REPLIES 5

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

I'm not surprised your exposure meter is telling you that your exposure is very high... if you are outside during the daytime and using those settings, then it's because it actually is very high.  

When you are using 'manual' mode the metering doesn't control the exposure.  The light meter is only reporting information to you... in other words it is offering you "advice" which you can choose to take or ignore.  But the meter will not change the camera settings when you are in "manual" mode... it uses the settings YOU dial in.

I'm wondering why you chose 1/50th, f/2.8, and ISO 160.  

That would produce an extremely over-exposed shot if you are outside in daytime.

In full mid-day sun, at f/16, the shutter speed can be set to the inverse of the ISO setting.  This is called the "Sunny 16 Rule".  It was a guideline developed back in the days before cameras had light meters as a way to help photographers remember common exposure settings without having to meter the light.