Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎01-01-2016

Re: 7D Mk2 Not Recognized by Windows 10

I have done all this many times and it does not work for me. Thank you. I have NEVER inserted the WI-FI card into my camera. I am 100% computer literate and used PC's since the 1980's.
VIP
Posts: 8,168
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: 7D Mk2 Not Recognized by Windows 10

I hear the 4 beeps tune when I connect the camera and the 3 beep tune when I disconnect the cammera, but no ther action is noticed. My main reason nfor wanting the 7D mark 2 to be recognised by Windows 10 is, I use a great software program to read the shutter count, as Canon insists that this is be a secret - why? I don't know - other camera makes give easy access to this information and even include it their image EXIF data.”

 

If you are getting the beepity-boppity-boop noises then Windows is seeing the camera.  At this point, you should be able to read the memory card as if it were a USB drive.  Manually starting EOSU 3 should have closed the loop.  

 

Make sure all remnants of that shutter count application have been fully removed.  Sorry that this is not working out for you.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎01-01-2016

Re: 7D Mk2 Not Recognized by Windows 10

[ Edited ]

Windows is not seeing the camera as a USB drive and EOSU 3 is not seeing it either. Windows sees it as Unspecified (1) labelled "Canon Digital Camera" in "Devices and Printers" but it is not accessible. It should be labelled as 7D Mk II. It comes up in my Windows 7 laptop but not Windows 10.

 

The shutter count software has been completely removed from the beginning. I'm stumped, so it is what it is I guess. No more Canon stuff for me, I don't need the hassle.

VIP
Posts: 8,168
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: 7D Mk2 Not Recognized by Windows 10

I suspect that your Windows 10 PC was not store bought. Does it use a USB port expander. If so, use another port that is not coming off an expander.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Valued Contributor
Posts: 468
Registered: ‎02-13-2016

Re: 7D Mk2 Not Recognized by Windows 10

Would it be possible to rename the camera in Win Explorer from "Unspecified(1)" to "7D Mk II"? And could it possibly make any difference if you did? Smiley Frustrated

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎01-01-2016

Re: 7D Mk2 Not Recognized by Windows 10

It's an Asus MB with 6 USB ports, including 2 USB 3 ports. I have tried in all ports and my 7 port hub. I am an administrator on a photography forum and a member of many forums and there are many others who have this very problem - and ALL are not seeing a solution offered by MS or Canon as yet. I'm sure that in time both companies MAY fix it. If I was the only one with this problem, I would probably just go and buy a new PC off the shelf. Thanks for your understanding with this issue. Cheers.

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎01-01-2016

Re: 7D Mk2 Not Recognized by Windows 10

I had doubts about doing that but did it anyway and no, (as expected) it did not work. Thanks for your input.

VIP
Posts: 8,168
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: 7D Mk2 Not Recognized by Windows 10


@Isac wrote:

It's an Asus MB with 6 USB ports, including 2 USB 3 ports. ..... If I was the only one with this problem, I would probably just go and buy a new PC off the shelf. Thanks for your understanding with this issue. Cheers.


That usually fixes just about all of the issues people have when using home brewed machines.  People running off the shelf Asus PCs with AMD CPUs always have problems.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Highlighted
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎01-01-2016

Re: 7D Mk2 Not Recognized by Windows 10

I run an Intel i5 CPU with 8MB ram and have NEVER had down time. Very happy with it. I do however love a challenge and I am going to get together with a computer tech friend of mine who does IT installations for large companies and see if we can sort this out. If we come up with somethong that works, I'll post the fix.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement