Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 10,189
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: 7D Mark II writes to wrong card

[ Edited ]

@ebiggs1 wrote:

"Luxury cars have available heated seats, while economy models do not."

 

Our econo-box Ford Focus has heated seats!  Smiley Very Happy


LOL  Okay, granted.  Do you hve heated mirrors and wipers on your headlamps, too?  I think you know what I meant, though.

 

[Edit] 

Seriously, though.  The 7D Mark II came out how long ago?  At most software companies, the design team that created the original product is in charge of updates to that product.  At some point after release, that design team is rededicated to a new product.  They cannot sit around all day working on a product that has been the market for a couple of years.

 

In other words, it is highly likely that the design team may have been broken up by now, and no more firmware updates will be forthcoming, not unless some sort ofcatastrophic failure is uncovered, which it hasn't so far.  I think it likely that all of the known bugs may have been found and corrected, AS NEEDED.  That's how design engineers work, folks.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 12,919
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: 7D Mark II writes to wrong card

"I think you know what I meant, though"

 

Sorry! Smiley Sad  But a lot of the time, I don't.    And, yes, it has heated mirrors. "Wipers on your headlamp", no.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-03-2016

Re: 7D Mark II writes to wrong card

kitmos - Thanks for noting this. I'm going to try it on my 7D Mk II as I haven't had to use this function (even though I do run both cards in my camera at the same time).

Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 10,189
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: 7D Mark II writes to wrong card

Okay, I think too much.  Guilty. 

 

About this writing to the wrong card issue, though.  What happens if you first remove the battery while you exchange cards?

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
Highlighted
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,527
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: 7D Mark II writes to wrong card


@Waddizzle wrote:

Okay, I think too much.  Guilty. 

 

About this writing to the wrong card issue, though.  What happens if you first remove the battery while you exchange cards?


From my tests (on my 5D3 and my wife's 7D2) the error occurs with the camera turned off, at least some of the time.

 

It doesn't matter how it works if you remove the battery. Putting it in your normal workflow to remove the battery while you change out a card is a non-starter. Period. Aside from the fact that it's a totally horse**bleep** procedure, if you can remember to remove the battery, you can remember to reset the card indicator.

 

Let's face it. And let's try to get Canon to face it. The current behavior is crazy and should be fixed! If you set the camera to use the cards in a particular order, that setting should persist until you change it. If the primary card isn't there, it should default to the secondary card. But if the primary card is put back in, the camera should resume writing to it. All this is so obvious that I can't believe we're discussing it.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA
Highlighted
Honored Contributor
Posts: 6,843
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: 7D Mark II writes to wrong card

Exactly Bob. You beat me to it. I don't have a 7D, so I'm not sure of this, but it might be possible to set a My Menu entry to the function. If so, select My Menu, select the option and there it is.
John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LR Classic
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-19-2016

Re: 7D Mark II writes to wrong card

Apparently Canon is not going to change this stupid behavior so I've trained myself to leave the card door open which solves the problem. My other issue with this is that I don't like leaving anything "open" longer that I have. Just invites dirt getting in as well as the (slight) possiblity of the door getting broken off.

Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 10,189
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: 7D Mark II writes to wrong card


@kitmos wrote:

Apparently Canon is not going to change this stupid behavior so I've trained myself to leave the card door open which solves the problem. My other issue with this is that I don't like leaving anything "open" longer that I have. Just invites dirt getting in as well as the (slight) possiblity of the door getting broken off.


Who knows?  Maybe they might.  I agree that they should.  Hopefully, they will see your post!

 

I wasn't trying to open old wounds with my previous post.  I figured the issue was something simple that the programmers overlooked, and you seem to have hit upon the circumstances that "correct" an easily reproducible error.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
Highlighted
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,119
Registered: ‎02-06-2013

Re: 7D Mark II writes to wrong card

I have both the Canon 5D mark III and the 7D Mark II and they both behave exactly the same way.  Agree with you that this is very annoying.  

 

You should be glad you don't have the 5D Mark III because it's even more annoying when the SD slot is a lot slower than the CF slot in speed (even though I have fast SD card) and the buffer is small.   When you shoot at high speedthe slow SD card slot  will just sit there flashing after a couple of seconds worth of shots.  This had caused me to lose a few precious action shots.  The 7DII is much better in this department...the SD card slot is just as fast as the CF card slot from what I can tell.

 

I have worked it in my work flow that every time I turn the camera on, I'd press the Q button and make sure it's on the CF card.  After a few times, it's pretty much automatic for me.

================================================
Diverhank's photos on Flickr
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement